We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cars...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #24 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cars...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The cars in the exhibition are incredible - even our 14 yr old daughter who isn't interested in cars was impressed. A good way to fill up a couple of hours, especially on a bad weather day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happytrvller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    24
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warbirds & Wheels Wanaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Good displays with good descriptions, restoration projects also covered here in detail, wheels mostly american but worthy of looking at.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank valmalcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. At present our display covers mainly American cars including Packards, and Fords, but we will be displaying other brands in the future. Keep watch on our website for our changes or our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Cars!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I probably agree with the other recent reviews. Some absolutely fabulous cars on display and an interesting display on a local pilot but few planes compared to what it used to have. The displays do change though to keep it fresh. It is also home to an art exhibition, which also changes. Some of these works are unusual, shall we say.
The owners have invested heavily to present a more 'polished' museum but the entry fee is a bit steep. Cafe is cool and worth dropping into for your lunch etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LivNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are touring NZ in a group, in Classic Mercedes cars. This was an especially arranged part of our tour and did not disappoint!

We started with a yummy breakfast in the diner, which is beautifully decked out with red and white American diner furniture. The Eggs Benedict was a good choice, lovely crusty bread with a perfect poached egg and sauce. A cup of coffee completed our breakfast.

We entered through a well stocked gift shop, with lots of both NZ products and car and plane 'stuff', as well as clothing, which came in handy as we had been travelling for more than a week and were running out of clean clothes!!!

The museum itself was extremely well set out, with a large number of cars on one side and planes on the other. Cars being our particular interest, we spent more time on one side than the other.

The information about each car gave details of original purchase price and brief history. Amazing how much some of these cars were back in the 1920s or 30s!

There was also a very interesting exhibit upstairs about Sir Tim Wallis who had pioneered the deer farming and capturing of deer using helicopters! He had seen a market for the deer products, enabling the use of the carcasses after the culling of this at one time pest. The helicopter was on display, we could not imagine hanging out on the platform with the net gun!

Not sure what museum the previous visitors went to, perhaps it was in the early days of this one, but their comments do not reflect at all our experience.

Well done to the owners. We need people like this to help not only preserve these old cars but enable us to see them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueLodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your Warbirds & Wheels experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband was looking forward to finally coming to this museum. What a disapointment it was. He paid 20.00, and there was hardly anything inside. A lot of the planes have been sold off.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rustylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Warbirds and Wheels was opened in December 2011. Our collection of warbirds allows visitors to follow the evolution of fighter aircraft from WW1 to more modern times while our Classic Car collection features some world-class vehicles. We also tell the story of local flying and business legend Sir Tim Wallis and have an art gallery featuring work by various New Zealand artists. Some people have confused us with the New Zealand Fighter Pliot's Museum which closed down in March 2011. A couple of their aircraft came to us but the rest had been sold off well before the facility closed down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing