We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #24 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you want to see how gorgeous automobiles used to be when designed by humans, go see this collection. A stunning array of vehicles from all eras from the 20's through to 70's, most restored to orginal, and some modified hot rods for the petrol head, it is hard to pick a favourite. I recommend that the ladies out there take the time to go with their guy, these cars have beautiful lines and style by the bucket load. And once you have had enough of cars, there is the art gallery full of NZ art - the sort of collection you normally only see in city galleries. Its good to have some indoor attractions available in Wanaka.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieFromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Obviously we have tried to cover a number of bases and are pleased that you agree with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    24
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Wheels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

'Wings' fans may be disappointed but I enjoyed it. Especially the cars and the Tim Wallace ehibition. For less than 5 months since opening, they've done well. The cafe has a great sunny spot on a cool day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris_NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome collection of cars!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We discovered this museum by accident, and loved it. The collection of cars is gorgeous, and the story about the Warbirds over Wanaka founder was pretty interesting. What a crazy guy he was! Great way to spend an hour or two.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dwdelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your comments re Sir Tim Wallis story. We are all very proud of him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a history lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

some lovely planes, a sky hawk, vampire and a hurricane replica and a Mach1 Mustang all lovingly restored. Good to get you in the mood for warbirds over Wanaka

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CynthiaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to you coming back at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
309 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very smart but very few exhibits”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was disappointed at the number of exhibits, although they were mostly well labelled and curated. The museum looks very smart but is a bit style over substance. I visited during the Warbirds over Wanaka airshow so got in for half the normal admission price. It took an hour to go through the exhibits which meant that it was reasonable value for $10 but I would have felt short-changed if I'd paid the full price. The Transport & Toy museum next door, at $12 admission, was much better value.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prisonerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Always good to hear from people who have visited with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing