We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Grind

Urban Grind
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times when visiting Wanaka. Coffee is always great and decor is modern. Hard services mean if it is busy it is very noisy so mornings are best.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    134
    44
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“coffee meeting place”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

nice for coffee & sun out the back out of the wind. parking good. didn't eat there so can't help[ with that

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best coffee”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a top spot Urban Grind is. Our family trooped into this hipster joint by accident on a public holiday and were very happy we did. Excellent coffee, good food served all day and fast service. There a very slick bar upstairs which we didnt try but is obviously popular at night. The owner started this joint as a hobby and now runs a very successful business which is a favourite amongst the locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Expected better”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had the eggs bene (with salmon). We were really disappointed in the salmon! We expected it to be beautiful as we were in Wanaka, but the salmon came out in small pieces and had obviously been frozen. Yuk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Watermelon_Smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still amazing coffee”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Haven't been back to Wanaka since last Autumn but one thing I know is that Urban Grinds coffee is still the best. And the service is still spot on. First stop in Wanaka is always at this cafe for its coffees. Food is fantastic to always mouth watering

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wessa666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Grind also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Urban Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing