We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hot Chocolate"”
Review of Urban Grind

Urban Grind
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, New Zealand
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Hot Chocolate"”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The best hot chocolate we have ever had, not bad coffee either! A fantastic bar/ cafe with a great atmosphere

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    141
    45
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“COOL!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fantastic ubercool rustic hangout for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
A very popular spot for locals.

The beef with blue cheese mains is highly recommended for dinner.

A modern restaurant that easily impresses!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank blinkybillWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, food and service were great”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recommended by a local business manager, we were not disappointed.
We booked a table and were got the right by the fire. The waitress was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu.....and knew her stuff about the great tasting beers from the NZ micro breweries!
The croquettes were very good as was the Calamari and pizza
Would go back again

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrossStep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty but please buy some egg cups”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice lunch here with our 4 children, after visiting puzzling land. The soup was delicious and very filling and the rest of the family had eggs of one sort or another. The service was lovely and really friendly.

My only complaint E's that there were soft boiled eggs with soldiers on the childrens menu - my childrens' favourire. However, when the perfectly cooked eggs arrived they were without egg cups, making them almost impossible to eat, as they were too hot to hold. When I asked the waitress she said they didn't have egg cups. In addition, the ciabatta soldiers were rather too large to dip in the eggs. Not an ideal combo when eggs with soldiers are on the menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanG_12, Manager at Urban Grind, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I totally agree more egg cups were needed and have now been supplied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely decor n architecture - great coffee too!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Grind as a recommendation from a local - fabulous decor with wooden floors, black steel beams and raw bricks - the coffee n hot chocolate was great as well. Lots of locals having coffee and light meals - sure sign that the Urban GRind are doing it right. Nice!

Helpful?
Thank 6784_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Grind also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Urban Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing