We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Sasanoki Japanese Kitchen
Ranked #32 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Aussie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great food, good portions, fresh and tasty and not over priced. Warmed saki was good too! Very friendly and helpful service. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank st0rmygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    57
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasty Japanese in Wanaka”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Shared a family lunch here, tries a range of the entrees and bento boxes. Everything was good. The highlights were the JFC (Japanese fried chicken) and soft shell crab.
House sake was excellent warmed.
The host was very friendly, and the dishes well priced.
The range isn't massive but they do the basics very well.
Good for lunch or dinner

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic and friendly”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Delicious seaweed salad and party-in your-mouth sashimi. My partner couldn't decide and had the bento box and he's still raving about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bapplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Treated the kids and myself to a wonderful meal here. We sampled a variety of the dishes and none of us were disappointed which is quite a feat with kids ageing in range from 10 to 15. All of it was delicate and fresh and served with a smile from the lovely staff - will definitely return there again. Relatively good value for money and easily compares to the other eateries in Wanaka.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Try the Japanese curry”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We just stop there to grab some food during our trip to Queensland and we had a very pleasant surprise. The place is a little restaurant with nothing more than very good Japanese food. The real thing!! The staff was just friendly and the curry...oh the curry, just wonderful!! We had one of the best lunch in our NZ trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasanoki Japanese Kitchen also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Sasanoki Japanese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing