We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treble cones carpark, a waste of money and a day of skiing”

Southern Lakes Heliski
Ranked #4 of 59 Tours in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With over 32 years experience in the New Zealand Heli-skiing industry, Southern Lakes Heliski is your premium heliskiing and heliboarding provider in the Wanaka, Queenstown Lakes region of New Zealand.With access to 11 different mountain ranges and over 600 runs, ski or snowboard the best-untracked powder with our highly experienced guides, certified under the NZMGA training program. Southern Lakes Heliski offers a variety of packages, ranging, from 4,6 and 8 runs daily, an option for private charters, and now multi-day heli-ski packages.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Waste of money and a day of skiing!! Our group purchased the Ultimate package for a $1000 (8 runs for the day) which should have included lunch up in the mts. Well the weather was supposedly bad so we had lunch (subway) on the ground. Then the guides decided to proceed with the day and we literally skied left of treble cones carpark. I watched skiers on Treble cone carving up ($80lift pass), whilst our group and the three other groups did pretty much the same run 8 times with no break which was at a beginner level so definitely not fresh tracks for every run. The guide for my partners group was rude and tried to trick the group that they had done all their runs when they had one more to go. If your loaded and want to waste your money try this, if not get up early and get first lifts for a fraction of the price!!

6  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian F, Manager at Southern Lakes Heliski, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for the feedback, This unfortunately sounds like a day where the guides were trying to avoid getting everybody stuck in the mountains because a storm had moved through much faster then expected. It could of been because we hadnt been able to get out due to weather and we were trying to take advantage of a weather window. In this case we utilise terrain that is safe and close so that we have an exit strategy. Our terrain that is on the back of Treble Cone is perfect for this and it is not into the skifield but runs down the back toward Black Peak. The only part where we sometimes see the skifield is one landing point. The reason we would of done 8 runs in one hit would of been because the weather was coming in and it was a safety issue. The runs would of been close to each other but not in the same place as we dont do that. The majority of our days we spend time enjoying the backcountry and have lunch up there but I think this day was unfortunately one of those days where the focus was safety. We are really sorry about this and would love for you to come out and enjoy another heliski day with us where the day is about enjoyment and not battling the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 170 of 170 reviews

Travelers who viewed Southern Lakes Heliski also viewed

 

Been to Southern Lakes Heliski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing