We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for coffee”
Review of Federal Diner

Federal Diner
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A friend and I have a standing coffee date every Monday morning, and we usually come here. It's not that easy to find if you don't know where it is, but worth looking for. They have highchairs for the littlies, and great coffee. Only downside is that there is not much room between tables - I would strongly discourage anyone from trying to bring a pram in here (as I discovered myself).
I think the fact that we keep coming back, in a small town with lots of coffee shops, is testament to how good it is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    84
    23
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orewa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheese scones”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Love their cheese scones, but over the years they have got smaller and smaller which is dissapointing, they were her best in NZ but think they have slipped a bit in that catorgary, never mind coffee was ok

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sydnee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A local secret (shhh!)”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Sunday ritual of date scone (best I've ever had) and a wicked americano - Fed is the locals insider secret! Not for long I'd imagine...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanniiPretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Awesome coffee, no gluten free food at that time but hubby loved the scone, would visit again just for the coffee

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We were in Wanaka on holiday for only a few days, but spent multiple meals there. The warm atmosphere, great coffee (try the iced coffee!), and tasty food kept us coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Diner also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Federal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing