We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Cafe Lago - CLOSED

Cafe Lago
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I went to cafe Lago on Tuesday,and I'm a difficult customer,I have several allergies, the chef came out and told me what was available from there huge yum looking selection, she went through the menu with me and offered to adapt everything to suit, you do not get this kind of service any where any more, i was so impressed I've been back twice and never been disappointed,the coffee was great to bonus, thank you so much for such amazing care and attention

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allergic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    9
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Eggs Benny the best in town”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Eggs Benny the best in town... So good. Coffee was ok, there ard better places in town, service was ok there was not much if a smile more a forced one. Not sure why but felt quite claustrophobic with the low lights even though they looked cool when you walk in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanakaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bland and forgettable”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My partner and I had breakfast at Lago recently. The omelette was quite bland, I asked for extra cheese in lieu of meat but I couldn't taste any in the omelette. The waffles were quite average as well, nothing wrong with them, but nothing great about them either. It wasn't particularly busy either.

One interesting thing was the chef wandered out of the kitchen and asked someone sitting eating at a table how to make a vegetarian omelette. I presume they were a manager, but it didn't inspire much faith if they don't know that all you do is not put meat in.

Overall I can do better myself, and I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fancier breakfast than we needed”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ordered eggs on toast and pancakes. The pancakes were incredibly fancy, and far more elaborate than we expected. While we were impressed with how beautiful the plates were, it was a bit more than we needed (and quite pricey for breakfast.) If you're looking for upscale brunch this is a good place, but not recommended for a quick eggs on toast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great cabinet food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lago has been a consistently good coffee stop for several years. It also has one of the best selections of cabinet food in Wanaka. The salads are especially tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikola180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lago also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing