We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 4 days and it was one of the best holiday park I've been in New Zealand. The facilitiesare are in a great condition. I relax every day in the spa using the pool and the (sauna) with an awesome view on the mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titan-Janina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi Titan-Janina,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 495 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in a campervan site overlooking lake wanaka and the surrounding snow capped mountains. In case that wasn't enough the facilities were top notch.

The only complaint would be that the free wireless service drops out a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cramcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hi guys,
Thanks for your response- we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities... We are sorry about the wi-fi sometimes our router needs to be re-set however anyone that stays with us we need to know so that we can make the wi-fi work at its best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here in a Campervan over New Year and pretty much everything about our stay was fantastic. The facilities are great, free wi-fi, free sauna and hot tub, showers and modern and clean, BBQ area was well used by all and the main kitchen/dining/lounge very spacious. We would highly recommend and stay here again. Even over New year the noise was low from the surrounding campers. Not too many of the hoards of teenagers either - worth noting if you are thinking about NY2013.
Its about a 25mins pleasant walk along the lake into town.
The only minor thing was that the couple next to us had booked a unpowered campervan site and put a tent up on the shared space. This was totally outside management control, but worth noting if they can think of a way to prevent people from doing this!
It was the most expensive campsite we stayed at, but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuteCoupleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello Cute couple!
Happy new year to you both- thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad that the park wasnt too over crowded for you- we try and limit the teenagers to keep your experience with us the same as any other time of the year :) I hope you had a safe travel around the rest of the south :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

At $85 a night you get what you pay for. A functional room, but not the cleanest. Friendly and helpful staff apart from the cleaner who let the whole side down ...he liked to brag to a friend right in front of us about being arrested after drink driving the night before (every second word being f@$! ....not exactly professional. The location is nice, out the way and quiet too, which is what we needed. The rooms looked nice, ours unfortunately was a basement and luckily we were too tired to care and no one was staying upstairs.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms look much nicer, avoid the basement room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Owner at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We apologise for the behaviour of that particular staff member. As soon as we became aware of this incident we have taken remedial action and that person no longer works here. We have always instructed our staff we require acceptable behaviour at all times. Regretfully, that staff member as well as the other shortcoming, obviously did not follow our standards of meticulous attention to detail regarding our cleaning procedures and we apologise for that.

We are looking at our description of that budget room to give a more accurate description so not to disappoint guests on their arrival. Over the years we have had many very positive comments about this room from other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were very pleased with this campervan park - the facilities were great with clean bathrooms and a free spa to use! Courtesy bus into town was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't use the kitchen, but it seems very cramped and in need of a good deep clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallieCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi Kate,
Thanks for your review- and thank you for your feedback- we have been so busy we cant seem to get into our facilities without closing them off for a long period to do a spring clean so we are doing bits and pieces as we can at the moment.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us- a really good time to visit is anytime after February as it quietens down! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

At the first sight it is a nice campsite... free spa, free sauna, free showers, etc.
But when you look closer (we stayed for 3 nights...) it's not all that impressive..
1. Free Wifi was so slow you could not surf even during daytime when the park was noch busy
2. Kitchen area was really disgusting sometimes with people leaving everything behind... next cleaning was at 11 am. So when you got up you were supposed to have breaky there.
3. Showers were spilled with thousands of dead insects that came inside overnight
4. sauna & spa do not have any rules. people use sauna and go into the spa right after after having a shower.. don't wanna know how many germs swim in those spas
5. laundry area is really small
6. some group of students was bothering us at night... We left the next morning

The park could be so much better if the owners would just care about it more. But maybe this is caused by the fact that they want to sell it anyways and don't want to invest into the infrastructure and image anymore...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Owner at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi JK Sorry about your trip. Regretfully Christmas New year was busier as many people got trapped who had wanted to go to the West Coast.

Totally appreciate your problems with the WiFi. Unfortunately because of huge demand, the whole of Wanaka suffered. Not only the Internet crashed but people with Vodaphone and Telecom had huge problems with their cell phones because of overloading. We really struggled to keep our Internet bookings up and on line.

Also apologies about the dead insect thing. They are moths so are pretty harmless, but do tend to come in large numbers for a week or two. Usually it is in November but they obviously wanted to enjoy Xmas this year and came a little later

The kitchen "overloading" has prevented us cleaning as often and thoroughly so in the next 6 months we are planning to build a complete new kitchen block.

Spas and Saunas..As a retired pharmacist I am somewhat psychotic about the health of the spa pools. They are checked every 4 hours when not in use and every hour when in use and I have no hesitation to take my own grandchildren in for a spa when they wish.

JK. we do appreciate your frustrations and as you can see from other comments most people have a wonderful time here and we are proud of our reputation. Although the place is on the market we are planning to spend many thousands if not hundreds of thousands of dollars on improvements before next winter.

We do passionately care about our guests experience and although you did not enjoy you time here we totally appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 9 nights over the Christmas / New Year Holiday and found all the facilities to be good. Other camp sites we were told just packed them in, here they didn't. Walk in to town and back or use the free lift. Facility cleaning could be done a little later but all kept clean. Free Wifi worked well. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi Martyn,
Thanks for your great feedback- you must have stayed just before the storm! A crazy busy month for us but very happy all of the boxes were ticked for you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Altamont Lodge
Altamont Lodge
#6 of 46 in Wanaka
110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 263 Studholme Road North | Po Box 11, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $61 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, Motels, Powered or Un-Powered campsites - we have accommodation for every budget. Studio, one and two bedroom self contained motel units with bathrooms. Spacious 3 bedroom holiday house. When you stay with us enjoy FREE wifi, showers,under-cover heated BBQ pavilion, communmal kitchen and TV lounge. Car wash & vacuum, drop off courtesy coach (4pm-8pm daily. Spas & Sauna open daily 4-9pm (small extra fee) All camper sites are fully sealed. Views of Mt Aspiring & Lake Wanaka. Winter warmers include log fire, under floor heating, wax bench and drying room. Free info-booking desk. Playground for the smaller travellers. Bike hire. Free DVD hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing