We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, excellent staff”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here in a Campervan over New Year and pretty much everything about our stay was fantastic. The facilities are great, free wi-fi, free sauna and hot tub, showers and modern and clean, BBQ area was well used by all and the main kitchen/dining/lounge very spacious. We would highly recommend and stay here again. Even over New year the noise was low from the surrounding campers. Not too many of the hoards of teenagers either - worth noting if you are thinking about NY2013.
Its about a 25mins pleasant walk along the lake into town.
The only minor thing was that the couple next to us had booked a unpowered campervan site and put a tent up on the shared space. This was totally outside management control, but worth noting if they can think of a way to prevent people from doing this!
It was the most expensive campsite we stayed at, but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuteCoupleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Cute couple!
Happy new year to you both- thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad that the park wasnt too over crowded for you- we try and limit the teenagers to keep your experience with us the same as any other time of the year :) I hope you had a safe travel around the rest of the south :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    105
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
135
218
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

At $85 a night you get what you pay for. A functional room, but not the cleanest. Friendly and helpful staff apart from the cleaner who let the whole side down ...he liked to brag to a friend right in front of us about being arrested after drink driving the night before (every second word being f@$! ....not exactly professional. The location is nice, out the way and quiet too, which is what we needed. The rooms looked nice, ours unfortunately was a basement and luckily we were too tired to care and no one was staying upstairs.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms look much nicer, avoid the basement room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Owner at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We apologise for the behaviour of that particular staff member. As soon as we became aware of this incident we have taken remedial action and that person no longer works here. We have always instructed our staff we require acceptable behaviour at all times. Regretfully, that staff member as well as the other shortcoming, obviously did not follow our standards of meticulous attention to detail regarding our cleaning procedures and we apologise for that.

We are looking at our description of that budget room to give a more accurate description so not to disappoint guests on their arrival. Over the years we have had many very positive comments about this room from other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were very pleased with this campervan park - the facilities were great with clean bathrooms and a free spa to use! Courtesy bus into town was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't use the kitchen, but it seems very cramped and in need of a good deep clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallieCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi Kate,
Thanks for your review- and thank you for your feedback- we have been so busy we cant seem to get into our facilities without closing them off for a long period to do a spring clean so we are doing bits and pieces as we can at the moment.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us- a really good time to visit is anytime after February as it quietens down! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

At the first sight it is a nice campsite... free spa, free sauna, free showers, etc.
But when you look closer (we stayed for 3 nights...) it's not all that impressive..
1. Free Wifi was so slow you could not surf even during daytime when the park was noch busy
2. Kitchen area was really disgusting sometimes with people leaving everything behind... next cleaning was at 11 am. So when you got up you were supposed to have breaky there.
3. Showers were spilled with thousands of dead insects that came inside overnight
4. sauna & spa do not have any rules. people use sauna and go into the spa right after after having a shower.. don't wanna know how many germs swim in those spas
5. laundry area is really small
6. some group of students was bothering us at night... We left the next morning

The park could be so much better if the owners would just care about it more. But maybe this is caused by the fact that they want to sell it anyways and don't want to invest into the infrastructure and image anymore...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Owner at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi JK Sorry about your trip. Regretfully Christmas New year was busier as many people got trapped who had wanted to go to the West Coast.

Totally appreciate your problems with the WiFi. Unfortunately because of huge demand, the whole of Wanaka suffered. Not only the Internet crashed but people with Vodaphone and Telecom had huge problems with their cell phones because of overloading. We really struggled to keep our Internet bookings up and on line.

Also apologies about the dead insect thing. They are moths so are pretty harmless, but do tend to come in large numbers for a week or two. Usually it is in November but they obviously wanted to enjoy Xmas this year and came a little later

The kitchen "overloading" has prevented us cleaning as often and thoroughly so in the next 6 months we are planning to build a complete new kitchen block.

Spas and Saunas..As a retired pharmacist I am somewhat psychotic about the health of the spa pools. They are checked every 4 hours when not in use and every hour when in use and I have no hesitation to take my own grandchildren in for a spa when they wish.

JK. we do appreciate your frustrations and as you can see from other comments most people have a wonderful time here and we are proud of our reputation. Although the place is on the market we are planning to spend many thousands if not hundreds of thousands of dollars on improvements before next winter.

We do passionately care about our guests experience and although you did not enjoy you time here we totally appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 9 nights over the Christmas / New Year Holiday and found all the facilities to be good. Other camp sites we were told just packed them in, here they didn't. Walk in to town and back or use the free lift. Facility cleaning could be done a little later but all kept clean. Free Wifi worked well. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi Martyn,
Thanks for your great feedback- you must have stayed just before the storm! A crazy busy month for us but very happy all of the boxes were ticked for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was one one of the best places we stayed. It has all the facilities. Nice place to stay for few days. Only problem I found was, camper van parking was too close to each other. So feels as if there is no privacy. The other thing would be the wifi. They have free wifi, but going online is difficult most of the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinay_kumargg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi Vinay,
Thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it. Unfortunately the last two weeks allocating appropriate sized vans to specific sites has been essential for us... other times of the year when we arent so full we spread the vans out more- we are only a small park with 45 sites but we totally understand it can be a little squished in the peak season... We are currently looking at expanding facilities Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in December 2012. We had a warm welcome at reception. Wifi was free of charge. The showers were clean. There are 2 jacuzzi tubs and a sauna which you can use after 4pm for free, they are accessible from the washrooms. We paid $5 each to use the private indoor jacuzzi for half and hour. The room was a bit dirty but it was nice and peaceful. You can hire bikes from the site. It is about a 25 minute stroll next to the lake to get to the cafes and bars which over look the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi guys, Thank you for yoru feedback!! Awesome to know that you used the private spa pool - we have just started offering this service THANK YOU for making us aware of this, we really want to get some nice ferns etc in that room to make it have that special little touch, enjoy your new year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels

Property: Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Address: 263 Studholme Road North | PO BOX 11, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, Motels, Powered or Un-Powered campsites - we have accommodation for every budget. Studio, one and two bedroom self contained motel units with ensuite bathroom. Spacious 3 bedroom holiday house. When you stay with us enjoy FREE wifi, showers, spas, sauna, under-cover heated BBQ pavilion, communmal kitchen and TV lounge. Car wash & vacuum, drop off courtesy coach (4.15pm-8pm daily. All camper sites are fully sealed. Views of Mt Aspiring & Lake Wanaka. Winter warmers include log fire, under floor heating, wax bench and drying room. Free info-booking desk. Playground for the smaller travellers. Bike hire. Free DVD hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing