We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campervan park!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were very pleased with this campervan park - the facilities were great with clean bathrooms and a free spa to use! Courtesy bus into town was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't use the kitchen, but it seems very cramped and in need of a good deep clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallieCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi Kate,
Thanks for your review- and thank you for your feedback- we have been so busy we cant seem to get into our facilities without closing them off for a long period to do a spring clean so we are doing bits and pieces as we can at the moment.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us- a really good time to visit is anytime after February as it quietens down! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 507 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

At the first sight it is a nice campsite... free spa, free sauna, free showers, etc.
But when you look closer (we stayed for 3 nights...) it's not all that impressive..
1. Free Wifi was so slow you could not surf even during daytime when the park was noch busy
2. Kitchen area was really disgusting sometimes with people leaving everything behind... next cleaning was at 11 am. So when you got up you were supposed to have breaky there.
3. Showers were spilled with thousands of dead insects that came inside overnight
4. sauna & spa do not have any rules. people use sauna and go into the spa right after after having a shower.. don't wanna know how many germs swim in those spas
5. laundry area is really small
6. some group of students was bothering us at night... We left the next morning

The park could be so much better if the owners would just care about it more. But maybe this is caused by the fact that they want to sell it anyways and don't want to invest into the infrastructure and image anymore...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Owner at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi JK Sorry about your trip. Regretfully Christmas New year was busier as many people got trapped who had wanted to go to the West Coast.

Totally appreciate your problems with the WiFi. Unfortunately because of huge demand, the whole of Wanaka suffered. Not only the Internet crashed but people with Vodaphone and Telecom had huge problems with their cell phones because of overloading. We really struggled to keep our Internet bookings up and on line.

Also apologies about the dead insect thing. They are moths so are pretty harmless, but do tend to come in large numbers for a week or two. Usually it is in November but they obviously wanted to enjoy Xmas this year and came a little later

The kitchen "overloading" has prevented us cleaning as often and thoroughly so in the next 6 months we are planning to build a complete new kitchen block.

Spas and Saunas..As a retired pharmacist I am somewhat psychotic about the health of the spa pools. They are checked every 4 hours when not in use and every hour when in use and I have no hesitation to take my own grandchildren in for a spa when they wish.

JK. we do appreciate your frustrations and as you can see from other comments most people have a wonderful time here and we are proud of our reputation. Although the place is on the market we are planning to spend many thousands if not hundreds of thousands of dollars on improvements before next winter.

We do passionately care about our guests experience and although you did not enjoy you time here we totally appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 9 nights over the Christmas / New Year Holiday and found all the facilities to be good. Other camp sites we were told just packed them in, here they didn't. Walk in to town and back or use the free lift. Facility cleaning could be done a little later but all kept clean. Free Wifi worked well. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi Martyn,
Thanks for your great feedback- you must have stayed just before the storm! A crazy busy month for us but very happy all of the boxes were ticked for you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was one one of the best places we stayed. It has all the facilities. Nice place to stay for few days. Only problem I found was, camper van parking was too close to each other. So feels as if there is no privacy. The other thing would be the wifi. They have free wifi, but going online is difficult most of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinay_kumargg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi Vinay,
Thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it. Unfortunately the last two weeks allocating appropriate sized vans to specific sites has been essential for us... other times of the year when we arent so full we spread the vans out more- we are only a small park with 45 sites but we totally understand it can be a little squished in the peak season... We are currently looking at expanding facilities Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in December 2012. We had a warm welcome at reception. Wifi was free of charge. The showers were clean. There are 2 jacuzzi tubs and a sauna which you can use after 4pm for free, they are accessible from the washrooms. We paid $5 each to use the private indoor jacuzzi for half and hour. The room was a bit dirty but it was nice and peaceful. You can hire bikes from the site. It is about a 25 minute stroll next to the lake to get to the cafes and bars which over look the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hi guys, Thank you for yoru feedback!! Awesome to know that you used the private spa pool - we have just started offering this service THANK YOU for making us aware of this, we really want to get some nice ferns etc in that room to make it have that special little touch, enjoy your new year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

we spent 3 nights on this campground. the service was very friendly and helpful. you get free wifi. the facilities are clean, they are modern and there are plenty of them.
the location is great, about 5 minute to the town by car, so you can even walk the distance. and compared to other holiday parks it is very affordable: we paid about 32NZ$ a night for two adults.

we hired some bikes for a trip along the clutha. unfortunately a chain has broken, so one of us had to get back to the park to fetch the car. I didn't expect this, but it was clear for the admins there that they are driving to fetch the bike (and my wife), we didn't even have to pay something extra for the damaged bike. I think this is an extraordinary and outstanding service you don't find easily everywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hi LSR3065 Thanks for your review- I am so sorry about the bike... We have managed to get our heads around a proper maintenace system and discovered our chain oiling skills werent quite right :)

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Located above the town of Wanaka, the Aspiring campervan park is an excellent location, well suited to camper vans as well as other visitors, by foot or car. All the amenities that the site provides, ablutions, kitchen etc are fine and very much up to date and well equipped. Actually I must award them top stars for their shower and toilet block which is very modern and has the best showers that we have so far found in both north and south islands!

The indivual van sites are well sized and are all with a concrete pad for a flat position. Their reception staff are friendly and very informative. WiFi is free (unusual) but is pretty slow as everyone wants to log on to everything - but hey.... A very good location and well recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hi Peter Mac, Thanks for your feedback... Unfortunately this time of the year internet is very popular and Wanaka is the bottom end of the earth for technology however we love feedback!

Hopefully the rest of NZ was as enjoyable.

thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 263 Studholme Road North | Po Box 11, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $60 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, Motels, Powered or Un-Powered campsites - we have accommodation for every budget. Studio, one and two bedroom self contained motel units with bathrooms. Spacious 3 bedroom holiday house. When you stay with us enjoy FREE wifi, showers,under-cover heated BBQ pavilion, communmal kitchen and TV lounge. Car wash & vacuum, drop off courtesy coach (4pm-8pm daily. Spas & Sauna open daily 4-9pm (small extra fee) All camper sites are fully sealed. Views of Mt Aspiring & Lake Wanaka. Winter warmers include log fire, under floor heating, wax bench and drying room. Free info-booking desk. Playground for the smaller travellers. Bike hire. Free DVD hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing