We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Campervan Park in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Aspiring Campervan Park for two nights in December 2011. The campervan park is small but has excellent facilities. The showers and toilets were clean and tidy and we enjoyed using the free indoor spa. Free wi-fi was also an added bonus, a service that is chargeable at the majority of other campervan parks. Wanaka is an amazing place to visit and although the campervan park is slightly out of the centre, there are lots of parking bays in the centre of town overlooking the lake. We would definitely recommend Aspiring Campervan Park to future travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABDusseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Hi Dusseldorf,
Thanks for posting such lovely feedback. We have tried offering more services in the past years such as bike hire and our drop-off courtesy coach between 4.15 & 9pm so that our guests dont have to find their own way to town and recently we have arranged with a couple of bars and restaraunts to do a return drop off which is great.

Hopefully we will see you again soon- Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 476 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here whilst on an extended tour of NZ. Found the facilities very good with adequate shower and toilet facilities. The kitchen, lounge area and free wifi were also a fantastic bonus.
On the negative side would have liked to have washed my clothes in hot water (not possible in the laundry) and the picnic benches were all delapidated and one fell apart when my husband sat on it (comical apart from the rusty nails!). It is also not within walking distance of town. Overall a decent site compared to many others in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Hi Ruthfa,
I am so sorry about our picnic tables- We have made more this month as it was definately on our to do list- I would have been happy to arrange a discount and done something with that picnic table!

Unfortunately we cannot offer hot washes as we are away from the main road we used to get complaints as to the lack of pressure whcih wasnt washing the clothes properly.

I will be posting an update video on our website this week so I will take a shot of our nice new tables for you! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Lovely campsite slightly (25 min walk) out of wanaka. Great pitches and views with good facilities and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here on a snowboarding/sight seeing holiday.
We arrived after booking 3 nights and just before a big storm was due. The facilities are phenomenal - big well appointed meals and lounge room, free Wi-Fi, drying room, indoor spa's, heated bathrooms, beautiful grounds and views. The staff are fantastic.
The storm meant we couldn't travel too far so by the third day we decided to stay in this heavenly are longer and booked the rest of the accommodation at this park. We were not sorry.
I truly beautiful location, close to all the ski fields and fjordland - we will definitley be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButchInBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank- you for posting a review about your stay with us. I am glad that the facilities kept you nice and snug during the storm- our winters sure can be cold here, this is why we try and provide services such as underfloor heating and spas.
We hope the rest of your trip around NZ was just as enjoyable :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is one of our top two campervan parks in New Zealand (other being DeBretts, Taupo). The facilities are great -- good showers, very clean toilets, free wifi, well laid out campsites, good kitchen, free vacuum and van wash facilities. Staff was friendly, community room had comfortable sofas, tables/chairs and a TV. A secondary kitchen/bbq area with a toilet is located away from the main block and has all the appliances too. Our only negative was that there was a "thieving couple" who were passing by and stealing supplies from other people. I (and a couple of others) had a confrontation with the male but he just replied "If they dont want me to take they dont leave things here" when the food, utensils etc they were taking were clearly marked "Property of XXX" and so on! I do have photos of the thieves!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpacemanSpiffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for posting such great comments we really appreciate it. I am so sorry that someone stole your belongings while you were staying here. If I was aware of this I would have been more than happy to replace these for you.

Hopefully we might see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a good stay at Aspiring Campervan Park, it is a short the main town of Wanaka, it had grassy sites and a good view of the lake. This was a really good campsite, with under floor heating in the bathrooms. Free wi-fi. A spa & sauna. A log fire in the lounge / kitchen facility along with Sky TV made it very homely. There was a courtesy coach to Wanaka from 16.15 to 20.00.There were BBQs, but due to it being very cold I did not use them.
All in all a very good site and I would like to go back and stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tula45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Hi there. Thanks for your post! What a shame you missed out on using the BBQ are we have large heating in our undercover BBQ area to cater for those colder nights, however i am sure you had an enjoyable meal in town instead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we've been in NZ for five weeks now, and this campervan park is by far the best we have stayed at. Underfloor heating in the shower/toilet block, immaculate facilities, cosy TV lounge with log fire and kitchen equipment that actually works (!), SKY tv for the Rugby ... but best of all ... FREE wifi, hot-tubs and sauna! Prices are very reasonable considering we are in a prime skiing area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We have just invested in a 50 inch plasma for the Rugby World Cup so hopefully you will make it back to enjoy the rugby on a bigger screen too!
We hope you had a fabulous time in New Zealand. Thank you for your great post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 263 Studholme Road North | PO BOX 11, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $59 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, Motels, Powered or Un-Powered campsites - we have accommodation for every budget. Studio, one and two bedroom self contained motel units with ensuite bathroom. Spacious 3 bedroom holiday house. When you stay with us enjoy FREE wifi, showers, spas, sauna, under-cover heated BBQ pavilion, communmal kitchen and TV lounge. Car wash & vacuum, drop off courtesy coach (4.15pm-8pm daily. All camper sites are fully sealed. Views of Mt Aspiring & Lake Wanaka. Winter warmers include log fire, under floor heating, wax bench and drying room. Free info-booking desk. Playground for the smaller travellers. Bike hire. Free DVD hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing