We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure luxury close to everything Wanaka has to offer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Cottages
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure luxury close to everything Wanaka has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My family of 2 Adults and 2 children (aged 9 and 12) were absolutely spoilt at the Wanaka Cottage. From the underfloor heating in the bathroom to the fully stocked kitchen, nothing was forgotten.

The best memories for me will be the view from the upstairs Master and the cosy fireplace. We were close to town and when it rained on one of the days popped down the road to do rock climbing and watch a movie at Ruby's, could also have stayed on to dine at the Lonestar as all in the one complex.

We are looking forward to returning, hopefully next year. Thank you Sharynne for all your assistance with our stay.

Melanie

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MondayMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

100% Pure New Zealand Magic
Thanks to a renovation in our own home we had the privilege of enjoying the Cottage (the House is right next door and they can be used independently or together) for 7 glorious weeks. Having stayed in many places around the world we know that the true test of a property is how it meets the expectations of an extended stay. The Cottage truly became our home away from home.
The moment you turn the key of the stable style front door you know this place is going to be special. The ambience is realised with the charming décor and unique knick knacks, with views of the mountains (which you can see from bed as you sip a latte from your coffee machine), and with the romance of an open fire and a deep claw bath. All the enchantment is here for a memorable stay.
The extended length of our stay meant that the ease of living and practicalities were as important as the ambience. We were not disappointed.
Wanaka’s cafes, restaurants and shops are a short walk or drive away but the Cottage itself is set in a peaceful and private semi-rural environment. There is ample parking close to the front door, WiFi that actually works and a kitchen with everything from a garlic press to a knife block of sharp knives. The appliances are easy to use and the beds deliciously comfortable. On cooler days under floor heating makes The Cottage warm as toast and on a sunny day the generous folding courtyard doors can be thrown open to overlook the courtyard with its outside furniture, barbeque and spa.
On the rare occasions they can, the friendly hosts Sharynne and Robert use this as their holiday house too. It shows in their attention to detail, program of continual improvement and genuine love for the area.
As we locked the front door of the Cottage and fare welled our second home it is one of the few occasions that we have wished that a renovation had gone over deadline!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JulietteNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks Juliette for your wonderful review. Hope you are settled now in your renovated home and looking forward to see you again some time in lovely Wanaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in the main house of Wanaka Cottages for 5 nights during Warbirds over Wanaka. This was a special trip for us, with teenage boys and extended family. The place is perfectly situated with easy access by short car or bike ride, to the lake (for jogging forays for the joggers and walkers amongst us), the township and supermarkets and the airfield. the house is situated for all day sun, with a beautiful courtyard/back garden that is sunny, green and private. Large doors open from both the sitting room and the dining room onto the verandah on on a sunny quiet day this gives the place a very special, peaceful atmosphere.
The audiovisual setup was top class, with very good, unlimited, internet access, and an interesting and varied supply of DVDs and CDs. the boys loved the surround sound in the main living room, and the super comfy chairs in the games room.
The kitchen was spotless and beautifully appointed with all the bits and pieces we needed (right down to glad wrap and alfoil) and a good range of small useful pantry extras. the dishwasher was easy to use. The kitchen is well set up to supply all the people able to be accommodated. The only down was that we could only find one teatowel! There was a good amount of fridge and freezer space.
The bedrooms were also beautifully done with extremely comfortable beds (how did they do it??). The water was hot and the bathrooms spotless and accessible with good shower and bathing facilities.
The Wanaka house is just a joy to be in and to look at. My brother is a well travelled professional and when he arrived there, first of us to do so, his text to me was "Have you stayed here before? This place has a serious WOW factor attached to it!"
Little things, like the secure key holder which allows family to come and go safely and at different times, and big things, like an early morning spa surrounded by lavender and looking out to the glowing peaks of the nearby mountains all have the feeling of quality. I just loved the way the home had been painted with a stunning selection of colours and finishes; a real unexpected pleasure to enjoy in the upstairs area.
If you ever want to treat yourself and your family to a special time in Wanaka, this is the place to do it. Often when you look at photos of a place, they look much better than what you find. Wanaka Cottages is different; lovely as the photos are, the reality of being there is just so much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

we stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage for 5 nights during easter and loved arriving back each day to our beautiful home away from home- all the extra touches like the spa pool, muffins on arrival, pantry supplies,herb garden, wifi, home theatre system, fire ready to go(not that we needed it) were all appreciated, not to mention the amazing beds and mountain views. we loved the location a little away from the busy main town area. thanks Sharynne for the 5 star accommodation, we will recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Wanaka cottage is without doubt the best holiday home we have ever rented. Both bedrooms are luxuriously appointed, the beds are just bliss, they are soooooo comfortable. The quality of the cottage, the fixtures and the fittings are all of a very high standard. Its like walking into a cottage designer magazine, its just beautiful.

The cottage is 2.5km from Wanaka, we never did the walk and just drove but it was not an issue at all. Its in a quite location just off the road that goes to Cardarona.

The hot tob was great, although my preference was the french styled bath tub - very luxurious.
The cottage was immaculate when we arrived, the cleaner - Sandra, had done an amazing job. You would be hard pushed to find any dust or grime what-so-ever.

The House next door looked equally impressive and it would be great to rent both for a large party travelling together.

I would highly recommend this property and we very much look foreward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snagMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage with my fiance and another couple. From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be an amazing stay. The cottage is unbelievably gorgeous - the master bedroom upstairs has a huge bed with views all the way to snow capped mountains. The bathroom is absolutely gorgeous with a luxurious french tub and beautiful amenities to top it off. The lounge has a fireplace, television with sky and blu-ray - perfect if you want a relaxing night in.



We spent an unbelievable amount of time soaking in the spa pool - absolute bliss.



The little finishing touches are really what makes this a standout property - the handmade soap and bath oils in the bathroom, the fresh muffins on arrival, the lights left on for our night time check in and free wifi for our stay made all the difference.



We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in the house - the Cottage is next door with its own garden, facilities and totally separate - although I guess for large parties they could share the spaces available.
The house is amazing - there is everything imaginable from a totally equipped kitchen, large dining area, huge living room with large tv; dvd; hifi; opening doors to the outside, with outdoor table; easy chairs; sunloungers; umbrella; washing line and plenty of garden space. There are 4 bedrooms - 1 downstairs with an ensuite and dressing room, with opening doors to the garden. The other bedrooms are upstairs with a main bathroom. We didnt use the upstairs - as there was just the two of us, we didnt need to. The kitchen has a fridge/freezer; dishwasher; pantry; coffee machine..........everything you could possibly want on holiday and more than we could use!
This 5 star rated property is a credit to its owners and is certainly a home from home with more besides. We will be back. Thank you Sharynne, Robert and of course Sandra - who keeps the house in amazing order.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Cottages

Property: Wanaka Cottages
Address: 11 Orchard Road, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous holiday home and cottage to stay for all seasons...Luxury 5 Star Wanaka accommodation providing peace and tranquility, views, quality, comfort, space and facilities. Wanaka Cottages offers a choice of either our 5 Star luxury Holiday House OR luxury Cottage Wanaka Accommodation. Wanaka Holiday Home (sleeps 8) Wanaka Cottage (sleeps 4). The cottage is perfect for couples and honeymoons and the house and cottage both fantastic Wanaka accommodation for skiing holidays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing