We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Bombay Palace

Bombay Palace
Ranked #39 of 86 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Ok”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Peeshwari was yuk but rest of meal was ok. Get really distracted by the big tv. Quite slow even though it was quiet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanakaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous garlic naan”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a delicious fresh fish meal the night before and really felt like a curry. The garlic naan is seriously the best I've eaten. The curries were tender, spicy and tasty.....and the view isn't wasn't too shabby either. Perhaps a fan or two during summer months would make the evening even better, it's crazy hot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not 'curry-in-a-hurry' but really tasty food!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited on the 29th December, after wandering around and comparing all the restaurants Wanaka town centre has to offer. The service was friendly and the food was fresh and tasty. Husband had Lamb Biriyani, and I had Lamb Rogan Josh with rice! Got a garlic naan as well and all good! Would recommend it to others for a nice dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktandnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Customer service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food was good. But the waiting time for the food to arrive was more than half an a hour. In between the food we ordered some thing. It was forgotten. or may be they thought our order were of small value.

They need to have more staff to attend the customer. If you have couple of hours to spend when you are hungry this is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinay_kumargg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great naans!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on the 29th. We bought takeaway and were given a wait time of 15-20 mins. We ended up waiting nearly an hour but were given free drinks for the trouble.
It was impressive to see how fast this couple worked given their lack of staff.

Food was fresh and delicious and the group commented these were the best garlic naan they had ever had!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKRoss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bombay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing