We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skiing trip to NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanaka View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka View Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Skiing trip to NZ”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Greeted by the ever friendly Charlotte upon my arrival. She was always around for a chat and general info for the local area. Recommended a great deal at the local ski hire shop (Outside Adventures).
The room I had was the one with no view but to be honest it was all I needed after a day on the slopes. Was warm and clean. It had a fridge and microwave which was very handy. Wireless was fast.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for the front 2 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Hi David, Great to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Hope to see you back next Winter. Regards, Pam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
92
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great value for money, Charlotte was incredibly lovely and helpful and especially so when i returned from a day of snowboarding with a broken arm! Short walk to shops. Amazing view of the lake and mountains. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolestooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Nicole, the lovely lady that broke her arm. We hope you have recovered and look forward to seeing you next Winter on that snowboard. Best, Pam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

On the day we were due to check in we had some issues with ferry crossings, and we missed the check in time by over 3 hours. We hadn't even been able to phone and let them know. Charlotte had left us a note in the reception window, and had left the key in the door of our room. She had even turned the heating on so the room would be warm for us! She had also taken messages from the company arranging our trekking the next day, and had left us detailed notes with everything we needed to know. She could not have done a better job and we were extremely grateful. The room was lovely and very clean, the living area was spacious, the kitchen was well equipped and the shower was hot and powerful. A great motel.

Room Tip: For views of Lake Wanaka, ask for the front rooms. They are closer to the road, but there is not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenthevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
What an experience you had traveling to Wanaka. Really pleased Charlotte had everyhting sorted for your late arrival. Hope you enjoyed your hiking experience in the great outdoors. All the best, Pam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lakeview room has amazing view out the window of the lake and mountains. Innkeeper Charlotte could not have been more friendly or helpful, even after I spilled tea on the freshly cleaned carpet. She refused our offer to pay for cleaning.

Room is decorated with some retro 60's accessories. Very clean. Convenient in-room cooking facilities, and a separate bedroom.

Loved our stay there. Easy walk to everything.

Room Tip: Two lake view rooms have great views. Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you both again. Kind Regards from the Wanaka View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very fresh and clean updated motel centrally located with convenient parking. Across the street from the main city park which sits by the lake. Spacious LR and kitchen. Separate BR. Lake Wanaka area is a must visit and this is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mendresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We also agree that Lake Wanaka is a must.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love this place. Lovely location, clean and comfortable room. We stayed here for 1 night for our next trip to Franz Josef. Our motel has mountains and lake view. Free WiFi with superb speed. Kitchen amenities were complete. That's what we need the most. Laundry also FREE. Isn't it awesome? The owner, Mr. Brett (sorry if I spelled it wrongly) was very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to infamous attraction - Cinema Paradiso (300m) and supermarket, New World. Highly recommended place if you travel more than 4 pax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poobritney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do hope you have wonderful memories of your holiday in New Zealand. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We loved our stay, a great motel in an ideal location for everything in Wanaka. The room was clean and warm and comfortable. Our unit had a lovely view of the lake and the mountains, the unit had a kitchen with everything we needed. All of the restaurants, cafes and shops were within easy walking distance. Charlotte who welcomed us was wonderful, she helped with directions and was able to answer all of our questions about the area. The free wifi was important to us and worked well. We will definitely stay again, a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka View. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Property: Wanaka View Motel
Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Refurbished and modernised, self-contained chalets. (kitchens have ovens) Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke Park to lake & town. Perfect motel accommodation for summer & winter. 200m to lake and shop & Cafes - 5 self-contained chalets & 1 Studio unit. (3 with lake and mountain views) Serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 2)2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). FREE unlimited Wifi, Free use of bikes. Drying room for the Tramping gear & winter skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking, SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $130-$255. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos. Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleeps 2)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleeps 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). Drying room for the Winter Skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking,SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing