We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Views...Great Location... Good Service”
Review of Wanaka View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka View Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Views...Great Location... Good Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are in Wanaka..Wanaka View Motel is the place to be !!! This Chalet was an absolute value for money and very cozy set up for the 3 couples we were. The views were breathtaking !!

Close to shops, lake and the several bars and restaurants around !

Room Tip: I highly recommend booking Chalet 1 as it gets the best view of Lake Wanaka with the snow capped mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    42
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
96
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we had the budget studio and it was rather like being in a dungeon. It is supposed to have garden views but this is one metre against a fence at window height as it is high ground. It is also under another unit or owner's accommodation so one can hear creaking above. To cap it all it is by the laundry.
Closer examination from ad on booking.com shows it does not have a kitchen so washing up in a tiny space saver bathroom sink is very awkward. There is a sofa right next to the bed. Furniture is very old. Bedside tables are actually stools as they have seat depressions in them and the bedside lights have naked bulbs.
I doubt the other units really have lake views as side on. The units are called chalets and are certainly of an age.
Anyway, definitely avoid the studio and I reckon there is better elsewhere. A shame as people very nice indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProblemPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had planned too far ahead so could only stay one night which was a real pity. Wanaka is a lovely town and the motel is perfectly situated facing over the park to the lake. Our chalet was spotless with a roomy lounge/kitchen. Bedrooms are small but more than adequate. Excellent value. Thanks to Brett and staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcanddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a very comfortable night here. There were lovely views across the park to the mountains plus Pam and Brett went out of their way to facilitate an urgent business call. It was va short walk to the town centre; restaurants and lake shore. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The front chalets have the best views and handy to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We toured south island and stayed in 9 different hotels.This was the best. Great rooms. Clean and spacious. Pam , was extremely nice and friendly. We had a baby and wanted to check out a little later the usual time. She said we can check out anytime we want. The rooms also had great views of the mountain and the lake . Cross the road to go for a walk in the park or 5 min walk to town center.
Great service and great rooms. What more can you ask?

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We planed to stay at wanaka for 2 nights only. But the weather and the motel were great - so we end up staying for 4 nights!
The room was modern design and it was very clean! It has a full kitchen (with a stove & oven). We had a great view from our room to the lake and moutains... The host's were extraordinary. They were very nice and helpfull (we are travelling for a month in NZ and did not come across with such a nice host's). Over all it was an excellent experience for us!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatshimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst driving round the south island. We didn't have a booking but pitched up on the night. It is a family run place. There are similarly named places in Wanaka so make sure you go to the one you want. I'm not sure this was the one we meant to go to but still. We paid for a one bedroom unit but the wifi didn't work in that one so we were moved to a 2 bedroom unit. The units are very small. The double bedroom door wouldn't close because there was no room. The living area has too much furniture in it, there is nowhere to put luggage. The bathroom was freezing and the shower was like a big sink, with a metal base and no shelves or anything. Having said that, the unit was modern, clean and very well equipped with full oven and hob for those cooking for themselves. It is also slightly away from restaurants and pubs, which would be fine in the summer but in the winter it is not very nice walking far when it is so cold outside. We stayed in nicer places for the same money but it was ok for a night.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mandeem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Property: Wanaka View Motel
Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Refurbished and modernised, self-contained chalets. (kitchens have ovens) Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke Park to lake & town. Perfect motel accommodation for summer & winter. 200m to lake and shop & Cafes - 5 self-contained chalets & 1 Studio unit. (3 with lake and mountain views) Serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 2)2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). FREE unlimited Wifi, Free use of bikes. Drying room for the Tramping gear & winter skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking, SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $130-$255. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos. Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleeps 2)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleeps 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). Drying room for the Winter Skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking,SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing