We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A luxury kiwi experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aoturoa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aoturoa
Ranked #29 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A luxury kiwi experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

After spending several weeks touring in our campervan we arrived at Aoturoa in need of a little luxury. We received it in spade loads! Our room was beautiful, spotless and full of lots of little thoughtful touches. Jon and Lesley were the perfect hosts, making us lovely food from local produce. They were also a mine of information on activities and the local area. They guided us to the best spots for Wanaka tramping. We left feeling rejuvenated and inspired. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clareandzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We took some North American friends down to Aoturoa for a weekend break. It made us proud to be Kiwis. I would totally recommend it as a relaxing destination for both overseas visitors and locals. Jon and Lesley are fabulous hosts and their property is breathtaking. The rooms were extremely well-appointed with everything the discerning traveller could wish for plus amazing views to the surrounding mountains. We enjoyed lively meals with great conversation, food and local wine - everything we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We loved our stay at Aoturoa! It is nestled with a stunning backdrop right next to the river. Along with the beautiful natural surroundings it has luxurious rooms and we truly felt looked after and spoilt with the deep baths, new zealand products and the personal hospitality of Jon and Lesley. They catered for my vegeterian diet while my partner enjoyed wild venison, wonderful. As soon as we drove up to the house we were impressed, its a beautiful building and the rooms were quiet, stylish with everything we needed. We went kayaking in the river and picked berries from the orchard. It was a very special weekend, thank you!

Room Tip: we had one of the moutains, just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piphunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I had a great stay thanks to the relaxed and friendly owners support, in this beautiful location.

The accommodation has sizeable rooms with excellent views from every window and all the amenities one would expect.

The owners were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable.

On one of the days I stayed, I enjoyed a kayaking trip down the river that runs past Aoturoa, which I can recommend and along with wine tasting.

I arrived at Aoturoa Jet legged from UK direct flight and after the three nights stay, left relaxed and revitalised.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

"We have been regular visitors to Aoturoa since it opened. There is nowhere else on Earth where we can go to recharge our batteries so quickly and so fully. There is so much to do in the area and we absolutely love the friendly and warm hospitality of Jon and Lesley. Jon's cooking is a revelation and includes a lot of local game and produce. I also intend to catch a trout at some stage!" Gary and Janet Tilsley - Sydney Australia

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTilsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zula Lodge
Zula Lodge
#21 of 47 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 47 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#13 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoturoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoturoa

Property: Aoturoa
Address: 3396 Highway 6, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Hotel Class:5 star — Aoturoa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Queenstown and Lake Wanaka, Aoturoa Luxury Villa is a five star boutique lodge offering quiet seclusion and understated luxury accommodation on 50 acres of grounds on the banks of the Clutha River. With 360-degree mountain views and barely a building in sight. Aoturoa is a luxury retreat with a strong focus on the region’s outstanding food and wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing