We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch to the famous pub”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Cardrona Hotel serves up a modern take on traditional pub fare. Fresh, fast and filling you'll find all your traditional favourites created from locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Our wine list features top quality local drops from some of the region's best wineries, along with a great selection of both tap and bottled beers, ciders and a full range of spirits. In winter the apres ski is legendary, while the sunny beer garden is the perfect summertime spot for a long lunch.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although there was scaffolding up we still did manage to take photos. Good variety with food and drink menus and good friendly staff. Always good to step back into a bit of a historical time

Thank jonesbasil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi jonesbasil86,

We appreciate your patience as we undergo maintenance! We are glad you still managed to grab some photos and enjoy the historical ambiance. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 817 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

A must see hotel. 155 years old with great photos and memorabilia inside.
The food is really good. We ate here twice during our stay in Wanaka. Best coffee we've had during our NZ trip. The Cardrona ale is worth a try too!

Thank ajdrew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ajdrew66,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, food, coffee and beer! I will make sure to pass along your comments to the kitchen and barista.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Stopped by for lunch and really enjoyed it. Cool old building with inside and outside seating.

It was a beautiful spring day and lots of people were relaxing outside.

They have 8 beers on tap. I had the Venison Burger and it was delicious - I highly recommend it.

Great atmosphere and great place for photos.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig-World-Travelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Craig,

Thank you for calling in for lunch. You certainly picked a great time of year with the garden starting to come into it's splendor. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We went here for a quick drink and snack after some horseback riding. It is a lovely pub - much bigger than it looks from the outside. Has a large garden area with a log fire which is a delight. We ordered a couple of drink which were nice (but pricey). We also ordered some nachos which were not what we expected, really did not enjoy - please use salted tortilla chips going forwards!

Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Suzanne,

We are sorry to hear the nachos weren't to your liking. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and are always looking for feedback, I will make sure to pass your comments on the the kitchen. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere and hope you had a great day horseback riding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Cardrona Hotel is a real icon set at the base of Cardrona peak. We stopped on several occasions after a days skiing and snowboarding. Great food and beverages in a picturesque setting of yesteryear. A must visit, don’t miss out.

Thank Lis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Lis,

Thank you for calling in after your days up the mountain. We are glad you enjoyed your visits with us and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardrona Hotel also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing