We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Iron Track

Mount Iron Track
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

A great little 1hr. Walk up and down, with a bird's eye view of Wanaka.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    182
    25
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Walked to the top, took about half an hour. We parked in the carpark at the bottom although we could have walked from the resort we stayed at. Views were extensive. Don't forget to take your camera. Absolutely worth it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris0nHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A Great Wake Up Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

A steep climb with space to stop and catch your breath. You can have a good look round Wanaka and the Lake. Great toilets at the base!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LauraLewis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Panoramic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Do the circular walk. Delightful variety of terrain and views.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Leisurely climb and good views at every turn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The walk up is nice and leisurely. The ascent wasn't too strenuous or steep with a clear distinct track. In fact, as we were walking up, we saw quite a few locals taking a jog up the hill. There are a few benches along the way up you can rest and take in the view of Wanaka, the surrounding mountains and the lakes at every turn. We did the walk leisurely and took about 2 hours in total for the entire loop. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to take a leisurely walk for some great views of Wanaka and doesn't mind climbing up a winding path to the top of a 240m hill.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank zpphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Iron Track also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Mount Iron Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing