We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the effort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Iron Track

Mount Iron Track
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Close to Wanaka. The walk is steep in places and a decent 45 minutes. My 8yo girl managed it OK though. Worth when you get to the top. Magnificent 360 degree views of the lakes and farmland. As it is a loop you can go either way, we went left up past the toilets. You have views all the way up which is good, although thought the other way would have been easier (could have been that we were walking down it!). We decided we were happier we went left.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    182
    25
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“See Wanaka from above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

A fabulous walk with the reward of wonderful views over lake wanaka.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dgcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice hike with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

It took our group about 2 hours to leisurely walk up, enjoy the views and get back to the car.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RuthMett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Panoramic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

You can see forever in all directions. A little steep for elderly but OK for fit under 70's. Spectacular views.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

A relatively easy walking track of about 30 mins uphill gets you to the summit of Mt Iron which on a clear day gives you fantastic views over the region. You can take a different route back down the other side too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Madlymanutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Iron Track also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Mount Iron Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing