We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than just a place to stay”
Review of Zula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zula Lodge
Ranked #21 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Wanaka
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“more than just a place to stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Albert Town Lodge for a while when travelling the South Island in March 2013 and afterwards decided to stick around the area and find a job. Thanks to its handy position on motorway 6, Albert Town Lodge is one of the first places you meet when approaching Wanaka coming from the West Coast – sleeping in a confortable bed in this cosy lodge after camping in the rainy West Coast was so nice!

Albert Town Lodge is the ideal place for all those who love cycling and hiking, with so many walking tracks and bike trails starting from the lodge's doorstep.. I particularly enjoyed the spectacular Clutha River, which is very popular for fishing as well, as my boyfriend soon found out.

The lodge itself is a quite, very tidy and clean place, with a well equipped kitchen and huge dining room and lounge (lots of DVDs, books and SKY TV were a plus), enjoyable garden with BBQ.

The hosts Tania and Darryl are among the friendliest I've ever met. As long time locals, they were always ready to give us tips about stuff to do and see in the area; plus, Darryl showed us good fishing spots and Tania helped us find some paid jobs.. and these are but a couple of things they did for us. We definitely wouldn't have sticked around Wanaka so long and felt so at home there hadn't it been for Tania, Darryl and the Albert Town Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenefrizzarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
10
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We came back again, the children were dying to get back to the Lodge since our visit last year. The Lodge was very clean & tidy. We had a fabulous fun week and explored a few more of the new biking tracks. The Outlet Track was brilliant and lots of fun and only 5 minutes bike from the Lodge. We had a fantastic view from the top of Mt Iron looking at the new snow on the hills. The weather was great. Thank you again to Darryl & Tania who looked after us really well. Even on the wet day that we had the children were quite happy being entertained by the large DVD & video collection that is in the Lodge. We totally recommend the Albert Town Lodge as a wonderful place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gendie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is really good value for money. The rooms are lovely and beds are comfortable. There's a huge sitting room with a wood fire, tv, dvds and books. The owners are really friendly. The lodge is close to the Clutha River so handy for bike rides and walks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a place!! So warm, clean and welcoming! Kids loved the big tv, wood burner, huge kitchen to do the dishes, dairy across the road for lollies, and fantastic bike riding trails as pointed out by Tania & Darryl (and Auntie Gendie). We will be back with bikes and Dad if we may. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is great to stay. Heater and sheets in rooms. A big TV with lots of DVD's you could watch. Very good bathroom and kitchen facilities. Very clean and tidy. Very nice and friendly place to stay at very very affordable rates. Just a few minutes out of Wanaka. Also next to a very nice river that you could go for a walk or swim at. Very quite area with beautiful landscape. Will definitely be coming back for sure. :0)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithPeteTeddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Easy to find with a big sign on the main road a couple of miles outside Wanaka. Good parking, no traffic noise. Friendly hosts and relaxed atmosphere. Plenty of room in the shared kitchen and lounge, showers hot and spacious. Rooms basic, clean, beds comfortable. Lovely garden. Shop & takeaway food 2 mins walk. Prices very good for what you get. Highly recommend for all types of travellers.
As they weren't full, I got a 4-bed room to myself !
Thank you Tania.

Room Tip: Front side you would hear cars on gravel, back side overlooks garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Delightfully easy to find and very clean fresh and friendly and helpful hosts....... Nothing was too much trouble including helping with accomodation at our next stop Mount Cook. Excellent value and certainly will return.

Room Tip: A number of options available depending on your cerci stances and traveling partners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
3.0 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
4.5 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zula Lodge

Property: Zula Lodge
Address: 8 Wexford Street | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alberttown Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful grounds close to Clutha River. A great place for groups, schools, clubs & families. Kayaking, fishing, biking, walking tracks & 3 ski-fields at your doorstep. Family rooms and dorm rooms available - no en-suites. Full large shared kitchen with large dining & lounge area. TV, DVDs & videos free of charge. Zenbu wirelss internet available for a small charge. 5 minutes drive to Wanaka. Shop, takeaways & tavern across road. Kids Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing