We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #31 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable accommodation”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a near new self contained tourist flat which was clean and tidy. Playground was minimalistic (swings, trampoline, see saw) - kids walked to the "other" playground indicated on the site map and were disappointed to find just a open area; security gate with bar for vehicle access in and out of the grounds; handy to main centre, either by car or walking; 3 pots and a frying pan with basic two hobs which were electric, plus microwave. Toilet and shower facilities were fine, but no hand towels provided. TV required a doctorate to operate … freeview provided. Our flat was facing the cabins rather than the lake, so missed out on the lake view there! Plenty of power points for us all to charge our phones!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
30
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Older camp park with large sites and beautiful views of the mountains and lake. Close to walk to village, lake and Cinema Paradiso in same road closer to town. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the relaxation. Drive to Puzzling World and Toy Museum outside town. Both well worth visiting!
Only downside is shower heads were for midgets not 6ft tall men. No baby change tables in bathrooms.
Otherwise recommend!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The guy we dealt with here was a real weirdo. He started getting really wound up when we said we were going to look at another holiday park as well (because his toilets looked like a football team changing room from 1964) saying how we had come into his home uninvited and how rude we were. We genuinely might have put up with the awful facilities for one night if he hadn't been so rude and uninviting.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Han R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Rakaia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not the best I've ever stayed at, but not the worst either. Showing it's age, but well looked after. Clean and tidy; great pressure on the showers; and, at the end of September, a lake view. We just stopped for the night in a campervan, and it had everything we could have asked for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Apparently most caravan parks in New Zealand are built in the 1950's and 1960's and never updated since! This is yet another example. The kitchen, the baths and the toilets are old, and only re-painted (several times) sine they were built. Having said that, the park has what you need when you come in a campervan. Great walking distance to town. We stayed there in a low-season period and had a site with lake view. During peak periods I can imagine this would be hard to get. Pricing was reasonable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed two nights here in our camper. The toilet and shower block was on the older side but well kept. Can't ask much more than a strong hot shower at the end of the day. Great views of the lake and a nice walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived in Wanaka from the West Coast in the middle of a major regional snow blizzard and found a spot to plug the campervan in. The severe wind meant we moved away from the tall pine trees and out in to the open to chance it with other vans doing same, but plenty of room in this park. Facilities here are the same as they were at the last visit 12 years ago and are ageing, needing plenty of renovating to keep up to standards, but nothing's missing, everything works and was ideal for us as a stopover. The location - central to town - is unbeatable, and in fine weather the views across Lake Wanaka are second-to-none. Great as a backup overnighter.

Room Tip: Campervanners can choose anywhere, out of season. Unsure of the cabins etc but they look quite OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
1.3 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#13 of 20 in Wanaka
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Archway Motels
Archway Motels
#16 of 20 in Wanaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 212 Brownston Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park is Wanaka's most central holiday park. It is handy to the lake and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. This park has served the Wanaka area for many years by offering clean and affordable accommodation that will suit all budgets. Accommodation ranges from tent sites and powered sites through to cabins and self contained units. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing