We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliantly Quirky A Must Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradiso Cinema

Paradiso Cinema
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cannock
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliantly Quirky A Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went here by accident as it was a rainy day but oh how well worth a visit. The cinema seats are a mix of easy chairs, settee's, and random miss-matched cinema seats, my daughter and I sat in a cut down car!! the room is very cosy and they have an intermission, when everyone rushes to the foyer and samples the most delicious hot cookies ever. This is an "Only in New Zealand" moment well worth savouring, Just go and try to tell me differently!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    91
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Movies in Wanaka a must see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Paradiso Cinema should not be missed if visiting Wanaka. It has comfortable couches and chairs to sit on (even a car body with seats) and the cookies freshly baked are excellent. There is also a great range of ice cream. After intermission the manager comes in to ensure everyone is comfortable before starting the movie again.
There is a good choice of current movies to see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nakitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feels like home cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lounging on cozy couches with a slice of pizza and the smell of fresh cookies during the break. You forget your in a cinema, it almost feels like home. Best cookies I had so far

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank die-Vici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“great time like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I enjoyed a good movie with 3 friends. this cinema is a really special place. We felt like at home, so comfortable and fun. I have to saty, I would love to have a cinema like this one at home. The atmosphere is great, people are nice, the quality is good for picture and sound, the choice of movie seems smart as well. It is a must try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelride99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
597 reviews
323 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Incredible Movie Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Paradiso Cinema shouldn't be missed when in Wanaka. The cinema is small - about 85 seats, so make sure you show up about 20-30 minutes before your movie starts. The seats are not your regular movie theatre seats - they are couches, love seats, big comfy lazyboys or even car seats! It's like sitting in your own living room with an enormous screen!
It's possible to order whole meals to eat while watching the movie, although, there are no tables, so keep this in mind. The cinema is licensed, so one can order alcohol as well. There is a half-time intermission when you get a 15 minute break to have some freshly baked hot cookies! This was one of the most interesting movie experiences I've had, and a nice thing to do on a rainy day or just to rest from all the outdoorsy activities in Wanaka.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso Cinema also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Paradiso Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing