We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”
Review of Wanaka Kayaks Sup & Sail - MOVED

Wanaka Kayaks Sup & Sail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Lake Wanaka's premium Kayak & Stand Up Paddle board operator, running guided trips of Lake Wanaka and the upper Clutha river. We also offer freedom rentals from the lakefront allowing people to discover the lake at their own pace. We use modern sea kayaks and equipment suitable for beginners to experienced kayakers. Our Fleet of Stand Up paddle boards has a range for abilities. Try a lesson with our ISA SUP instructors and get on your feet faster, turn better, go further. We are a fun, relaxed business. We welcome all abilities and will do our very best to cater for your needs... to get on the water and enjoying your time in Lake Wanaka! We are open October to April each year. 9am - 5pm - In summer we often stay open beyond this! A great way to fill your day!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Right in town on the lake. A great way to see the fantastic views. Good value. The staff are helpful and informative - if you are inexperienced, you get all the info you need before venturing out. All safety equipment is provided - so you are "safe as, bro"! All equipment is in great condition.
A good tip is to take a picnic lunch and paddle over to Ruby Island - this is the island you see in all the photos of Rippon Winery...
A great activity for anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dunnaheoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great experience to try the yaks with Bex. Good price and we got a nice view of Lake Wanaka on the yak. So much fun and we will never forget.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Hua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fun, good value :)”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had good adventure kayaking around the lake. 1h for me was enough if you're quick and looking on some physical exercise. If you want to enjoy the view a bit more, rent for 2 hours. On the small island you can have small break for some swim or quick snack :)
On the way back to the shore I had tailwind and felt like surfer carried on the small waves :)
Very good price considering other activities nearby!

Helpful?
Thank SiimV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
1 review
“A must do”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a great activity. Feels safe, it's a beautiful spot and the staff are friendly and know their stuff so you get proper instructions if you want them. I tried the standup paddleboard and I rented the twin kayak with my wife. We went out around Ruby Island and it was great.
Fun, beautiful and friendly!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avenir07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“WOW! HOW FUN”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wow! we had such a great afternoon on the lake with wanaka kayaks. first we took out the Stand Up Paddle boards, what a fun and easy way to explore the lake, but soon the wind came in so the great staff suggested that we take the sail boats for a blat! this was so much fun and we ended sailing about the bay. i couldn't think of any better way to pass a beautiful afternnon in stunning wanaka. Thankyou to all of the crew there who made or day great.
A must do in Wanaka for a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank maachi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanaka Kayaks Sup & Sail also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing