We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights
from $314.29
More Info
from $317.79
More Info
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
214
4
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
4
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound fly cruise fly cruise boat new zealand mt aspiring mt cook fantastic flight awe inspiring breathtaking scenery wanaka airport beautiful country once in a lifetime worth every cent an amazing trip these guys big thanks couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 223 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile

We are in our 60s, but took a 25 yer old seriously when he told us the best thing he did on his trip to NZ was the flight from Wanaka to Milford Sound with this company. He was absolutely right. Like others we had postponements due to weather, but it was worth it. Our friendly pilot, giving us quite literally a bird's eye view of mountains and glaciers, took our breath away.Something we shall never forget and we are glad that the clouds finally lifted and we got to fly.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank TDH2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear TDH2016,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

How lovely to have such excellent weather (eventually!) for your Milford Sound Glacier Flight and Cruise trip, allowing you to enjoy the incredible scenery. The flights take in some awesome sights, such as alpine lakes, jagged mountain tops, glaciers and of course the fiord itself.

On behalf of your pilot and the Southern Alps Air team, thank you for choosing to fly with us and for your high endorsement to future travellers,

Kind regards,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Went with Southern Alps Air on their fly cruise fly from Wanaka to Milford sound and back. The entire team was friendly attentive, professional, organized, knowledgable and fun. Saw tons of amazing scenery. I give Anne, Paul and their team my highest ratings

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear Ben C,

Thank you for reviewing us.

We are pleased to receive your 5 star feedback and glad to hear that you had a great experience. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, it is good to know we have a good team on!

On behalf of Paul, Anne and the rest of the team, thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Did a fly and cruise over the southern alps and Milford sound. What a great trip. Welcoming staff when we arrived, and a super lady pilot. Weather was great which helps of course but the flight was brilliant, the surroundings explained and all done safely. Nice cruise on the sound and safe, informative flight back. Thankyou

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank stephent872
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear Stephen,

This is your Captain "super lady pilot" speaking, I would like to thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor.

Its great to receive 5 star feedback and I am thrilled you had a great day out. I agree that the scenery viewed from the plane is absolutely awe-inspiring. I never get sick of the view!

I hope the rest of your adventures in NZ were as great as this one.
Many thanks for choosing Southern Alps Air.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We flew to Milford Sound with these guys, and had an amazing experience; not just Milford Sound, but the scenery en-route is stunning.
We had to wait a couple of days for the weather, but couldn't fault the customer-service or professionalism of the team, who kept us informed & then were working really hard, when the weather improved, to make sure everyone had the best time.
Thanks so much !

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Shimoda63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear Shimoda63,

Thank you so much for you glowing review on our Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise and for your recommendation to future travellers.

It's great to know that you found us to be professional and well organised, we like to make sure that your day is as easy and enjoyable as possible!

I'm glad you enjoyed your flight, it is certainly a very special way to see all the amazing scenery that the Southern Alps has to offer.

On behalf of the Southern Alps Air team, thank you for chosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017

If time is short than it will be a good option to Milford Sound by flight. Scenery is spectacular from the sky and the natural wildlife in Milford is worth for a visit.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank smartdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear smartdonald,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent excursion with us on TripAdvisor. It is fantastic to hear that you had and spectacular time during your excursion.

We agree that if time is an issue the flight is worth it. The spectacular 40 minute flight beats the 6 hour drive any day. Not to mention the picture perfect views!

On behalf of the team at Southern Alps Air, thank you for choosing to fly with us.

Sincerely,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews