We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip!”

Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights
Ranked #9 of 58 Tours in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Try the Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise from Wanaka with Southern Alps Air. WHY? because of where Wanaka is located geographically in relation to Milford Sound you will FLY FURTHER - the circular flight path is 1hr 30mins. SEE MORE glaciers, waterfalls, the Olivine Ice Plateau & Mt Aspiring up close + more. SAVE TIME The drive from Wanaka to Milford Sound is 10hrs return. Enjoy the Milford flight & 2hr Mitre Peak Boat Cruise and you need only allow 4 hours return. Option of Heli Glacier Landing while at Milford Sound. ALSO Mt Cook & Mt Aspiring options or the amazing FLY-WALK-JETBOAT Experiences of Siberia Experience or Blue Pools Nature Experience. Our experienced team provide a friendly and professional service. During your flight, enjoy a personalized commentary and uninterrupted views from your window seat. Qualmark and Enviro endorsed locally owned and operated family business. Department of Conservation approved operator with an excellent safety record.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our family of 6 took the fly - cruise - fly trip from Wanaka to Milford Sound. We had a lovely day. We were the only ones on our plane. The pilot pointed out all the landmarks below. It was just gorgeous to see the mountains, glaciers, lakes and rivers from the air. The cruise on Milford sound was fantastic. We were on one of the smaller boats which was so great because they could get up close to the sides of the fjord. He took us up so close to the big waterfall that the boat was sprayed with all the water. It was so peaceful.

We opted for this trip because I couldn't bear the idea of being on the road for so many hours to take a coach there. The day we went was right after a storm and it was very windy. A couple of us were a bit air sick on the way back. I'm so glad we chose to take this trip with this company. It couldn't have gone any better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    3
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Best way to see one of the most beautiful places in the world”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Milford Sound is an outstandingly beautiful place and I would definitely recommend flying there as the best option. Driving from Wanaka would have taken us around 5 hours but flying took a mere 40 minutes.

The flight was far beyond my expectations; flying over Mt. Aspiring and endless untouched glaciers was one of the most incredible experiences I have had.

The pilot was really friendly, made us feel very safe and gave us some great information as we went.

The cruise was beautiful but it was the flight that really made this one special.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful sundowner”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booked at 4 pm thru the visitors center and they did the flight to Mount Cook just for the two of us. Perfect weather conditions, good commentary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Miguel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The best way to see the area - a trip of a lifetime !”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The flight with Southern Alps Air was one of the best experiences we had during our trip in New Zealand.

We were intending to drive to Milford Sound from Queenstown, which was our next stop from Wanaka but the weather had other plans. This option was the only way we were going to get to see the area before bad weather set in. And we were not disappointed, the whole experience was fantastic.

The views were exceptional; you get to really appreciate the different landscapes from Wanaka’s beautiful lake, the vast Mount Aspiring National park with it huge snowy capped glaciers, to the coastal region and lush forestry. We had a brief landing in Milford Sound which in my opinion was the best way to see the area, being up close to the scenery, it was awe inspiring. And the bonus was we hadn’t spent a whole day driving to get there!.

I am in agreement with other travellers “this is the best way to see this beautiful country, a unique experience that will stay with you forever”.

The Southern Alps pilot was very knowledgeable, skilled in handling the plane which made us feel in safe hands. I wish all my flights had such an attentive pilot. He had a warm and friendly manner which made us feel like first class passengers.

Thank you for such an incredible experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PapstN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It's worth the money to fly to Milford Sound”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was the highlight of our New Zealand trip! We were lucky and had a beautiful, clear day. The views from the plane were unbelievably beautiful. And landing at Milford Sound was exciting. The pilot provided information during the flight. His piloting skill was obvious, so we felt very comfortable during the flight to and from the Sound. Everyone at Southern Alps Air was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DEBBI1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing