We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home in Wanaka”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Dunblane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

As always we had a wonderful stay! If you are staying in Wanaka and want the personal touch, a very warm welcome and a visit you will always remember, book D'lavande. Helen and Wayne are true South Island Kiwis. Nothing is too much trouble, the room and food are second to none. The B and B is handy for town and both Helen and Wayne are a fount of information. We first visited 4 years ago and have become regular visitors. It is that sort of place! I know you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GouldsDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at D'Lavande for five nights. Helen and Wayne are exellent hosts, Helen made good cooked breakfasts and gave us good advices of what to do, were to walk. She help us with tablebooking and clotheswashing.The B&B had a very good location.
Every morning we had fun and intresting talkes with orher guests and Helen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0lveig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had an amazing weekend here.
Wayne & Helen are fantastic hosts.

Just a few minutes walk from the Main Street and lakefront.
Room was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast will keep you going well past lunchtime!
Home baked treats left in your room when you return at the end of the day!
Great advice of where to visit and where to eat.

If you come to wanaka, stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_JRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small B&B nestled in a residential area a short (few minutes) walk from Wanaka shopping area & lake front. Run by a wonderful, friendly couple (Helen & Wayne) who were caring and very helpful. Helen prepared us with a top notch breakfast of our choosing before we left. Thank you both for a wonderful stay and your travel advice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This homestay is on the edge of of the resort and located in a quiet part of the town. On arrival we received a friendly welcome from Helen our host and chatted in the back garden over delicious homemade biscuits and a pot of tea. There was a lake view from the garden but was interupted by numerous houses. The garden of the homestay was lovely and spacious. Our ensuite room was at the front of the house so we had no view. It was clean and well furnished although rather small. Each room had it's own entrance so it felt like you were in a motel rather than a homestay. The breakfast was good and it was nice to meet other guests. Helen printed an information sheet of places to visit enroute to our next destination which proved useful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnleyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Sadly we were only able to stay one night at d'Lavande, a pretty, stylish, modern, beautifully decorated house with a lovely garden and lake views, in a quiet area of Wanaka that is still accessible for restaurants without having to drive. As we had our adult daughter with us we booked the double and single room suite with shared bathroom. Nicely equipped rooms, super bathroom with the best shower we had in New Zealand, thoughtful little touches such as home-baked cake on our room tea-tray, and a gift of a lavender bag from Helen's own lavender bushes. Excellent breakfast, great advice on local restaurants (we loved Relishes) and Helen & Wayne had even gone to the trouble of creating travel notes for our on-going journey to Queenstown via Arrowtown. Helen made us feel like new personal friends and we will definitely be back if we manage another Kiwi trip! Thanks so much, Charles, Fern & Lorna

Room Tip: Can't comment on the other double room, we chose the double room + single room with shared bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the D'lavande and found the accommodation excelent in every way. Our room was extremely comfortable, very quiet and furnished to a vey high standard. Helen and Wayne were very welcoming and the breakfasts would set anyone up for the day. Helen's local and regional knowledge was very helpful, telling us about places we would otherwise be driving past.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Property: D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing