We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Wanaka”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had an amazing weekend here.
Wayne & Helen are fantastic hosts.

Just a few minutes walk from the Main Street and lakefront.
Room was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast will keep you going well past lunchtime!
Home baked treats left in your room when you return at the end of the day!
Great advice of where to visit and where to eat.

If you come to wanaka, stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_JRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 89 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small B&B nestled in a residential area a short (few minutes) walk from Wanaka shopping area & lake front. Run by a wonderful, friendly couple (Helen & Wayne) who were caring and very helpful. Helen prepared us with a top notch breakfast of our choosing before we left. Thank you both for a wonderful stay and your travel advice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This homestay is on the edge of of the resort and located in a quiet part of the town. On arrival we received a friendly welcome from Helen our host and chatted in the back garden over delicious homemade biscuits and a pot of tea. There was a lake view from the garden but was interupted by numerous houses. The garden of the homestay was lovely and spacious. Our ensuite room was at the front of the house so we had no view. It was clean and well furnished although rather small. Each room had it's own entrance so it felt like you were in a motel rather than a homestay. The breakfast was good and it was nice to meet other guests. Helen printed an information sheet of places to visit enroute to our next destination which proved useful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnleyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Sadly we were only able to stay one night at d'Lavande, a pretty, stylish, modern, beautifully decorated house with a lovely garden and lake views, in a quiet area of Wanaka that is still accessible for restaurants without having to drive. As we had our adult daughter with us we booked the double and single room suite with shared bathroom. Nicely equipped rooms, super bathroom with the best shower we had in New Zealand, thoughtful little touches such as home-baked cake on our room tea-tray, and a gift of a lavender bag from Helen's own lavender bushes. Excellent breakfast, great advice on local restaurants (we loved Relishes) and Helen & Wayne had even gone to the trouble of creating travel notes for our on-going journey to Queenstown via Arrowtown. Helen made us feel like new personal friends and we will definitely be back if we manage another Kiwi trip! Thanks so much, Charles, Fern & Lorna

Room Tip: Can't comment on the other double room, we chose the double room + single room with shared bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the D'lavande and found the accommodation excelent in every way. Our room was extremely comfortable, very quiet and furnished to a vey high standard. Helen and Wayne were very welcoming and the breakfasts would set anyone up for the day. Helen's local and regional knowledge was very helpful, telling us about places we would otherwise be driving past.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We'd stayed at D'lavande earlier in the year and had such a lovely time that we were thrilled to return again recently. Helen is a consummate host and our return felt as though we were meeting up with old friends again. Helen's cooking has to be experienced to be believed - the breakfasts are wonderful, her home made muesli is great, and the home baking is a real treat (and it's lovely she puts people's favourite recipes on her website).

D'lavande has an excellent location - a quiet street a couple of blocks from town but only five minutes walk from the lake front itself - perfect! We really like the room we had - it's very private, always very clean and welcoming, and thoughtfully set out. Helen has anticipated everything people might need (right down to plasters in a drawer) and she and Wayne have created a lovely, restful spot for others to enjoy. I hope it's not too long before we visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Helen and Wayne welcomed us into their lovely home overlooking the lake. Our bedroom was at the front of the house - a little cramped compared to some B&B's we had stayed in but beautifully decorated and finished, very comfortable bed and very quiet- homemade cakes and coffee/tea facilities all there. A wonderful breakfast in their dinning area next morning and we especially enjoyed Helen's sense of humour! Very easy walk to retaurants and lake. A great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanburyCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing