We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hosts, Excellent B&B”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast for 3 nights in January 2012. Helen and Wayne are such a welcoming couple and certainly made our stay very special. Upon arrival we sat in the main house (note the two nicely appointed guest rooms are separate and have their own entrance, so you have more privacy) and chatted with Helen about our travels and she gave some recommendations on how to spend our time in Wanaka. This was one of our favourite towns in NZ, more chilled than Queenstown, yet still offers lots to do to fill your days. On Helen's recommendation we climbed a hill (I forget the name) on our first day (just opposite Puzzle World which is quite unusual!) to give lovely views of the surrounding area. Well worth it. We also walked the Clutha river, which is really beautiful, into town and then along to a vineyard the other end of town. The start of the walk was a 10 minute drive from the B&B and Wayne kindly offered to drop us off there. It's those sort of gestures which we found so nice and made this B&B stand out. I've even joined trip advisor to write my first review because I was so impressed. I'll finish up by saying that Helen is a wonderful cook and we were treated to a different breakfast each day - from traditional fry-up, to kiwi corn patties and healthy homemade muesli. Really nice breakfast and always set us up for another great day in Wanaka.

Thank you Helen and Wayne for making us feel so welcome. We were sad to leave but loved the rest of our honeymoon in NZ. Such a beautiful country and we're missing it here from London.

All the very best,

Lee and Emma

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed there 4 nights in February and were treated royally! It is quite obvious that Helen and Wayne enjoy meeting people. Your hosts are very kind hearted and will soon engage you in conversation on the best places to visit in New Zealand. It is a great place to stay while enjoying the sights and sounds of Lake Wanaka. Helen will spoil you with her delicious homemade goodies from her kitchen. This is a great home to stay, very clean and comfortable room in a well layed out house. A very short walk down to the beach. Lots of great restaurants and cafes to choose from while at Lake Wanaka. It's a home away from home, you will feel like you've come home to "mom and dad"!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoltzfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Helen is extremely knowledgeable, kind hearted and genuinely interested in you her guest and in guiding you with whatever you are wanting from vibrant and fun Wanaka. The king bed room with ensuite was perfect for our 3 night stay, the rate per night incredibly good value which included a continental and/or cooked breakfast. The bed was sooo comfortable, the linen top quality and the ambience was tranquil and inviting. We would not hesitate to stay with Helen and Wayne again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinamo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you come to Wanaka - and you definitly should, it's beautiful - so there is the lovely, tasteful decorated, so cosy B&B d'Lavande, you should stay: a very warm and heartful welcome, you have your own privat entrance to your nice room, and there is a window up in the roof, so you see the stars, before you will fall asleep - it's a dream! And Helen will help you with any advice you need, even if you need a physiotherapist/masseur - she knows the best one! Stay there, have a great breakfast and nice little morning talk, and you will enjoy Wanaka the most possible!

Room Tip: the room with the stars through the roof-window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in Lavender Room for two nights. The room is well-designed and clean.I can see that the hosts Helen and Wayne have spent much time on every detail of the room. Helen and Wayne are very nice and they have traveled around New Zealand that they can give very useful advice. The cooked breakfast is excellent, I like the self-planted tomato and the homemade blueberry pancake very much!!
The location of D'lavande is convenience too, just 10 min to walk to town centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We loved our stay at d'lavande. Helen gave us a lovely warm welcome and we quickly felt like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she went an extra marathon (a single mile doesn't do justice to her efforts!) to make bookings for us. Our room was spotlessly clean, but very welcoming and the quality of the linen and bed was superb. Breakfast was stunning - the muesli is delicious and I'm so pleased Helen has posted the recipe on the website! We hope we'll be back to meet Helen and Wayne again in the near future and would recommend d'lavande as one of the nicest B&Bs we've stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Helen & Wayne are warm hosts and were extremely accommodating and helpful in providing information on local attractions. Accomodation is modern and clean being newly built with each room having its own private driveway and entrance.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VP-AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
2.9 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Wanaka Lodge
Te Wanaka Lodge
#18 of 52 in Wanaka
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Property: D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing