We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly B & B in a top location, with amazing views and Helen - the best hostess we have found!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Helen is extremely knowledgeable, kind hearted and genuinely interested in you her guest and in guiding you with whatever you are wanting from vibrant and fun Wanaka. The king bed room with ensuite was perfect for our 3 night stay, the rate per night incredibly good value which included a continental and/or cooked breakfast. The bed was sooo comfortable, the linen top quality and the ambience was tranquil and inviting. We would not hesitate to stay with Helen and Wayne again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinamo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you come to Wanaka - and you definitly should, it's beautiful - so there is the lovely, tasteful decorated, so cosy B&B d'Lavande, you should stay: a very warm and heartful welcome, you have your own privat entrance to your nice room, and there is a window up in the roof, so you see the stars, before you will fall asleep - it's a dream! And Helen will help you with any advice you need, even if you need a physiotherapist/masseur - she knows the best one! Stay there, have a great breakfast and nice little morning talk, and you will enjoy Wanaka the most possible!

Room Tip: the room with the stars through the roof-window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagmar246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in Lavender Room for two nights. The room is well-designed and clean.I can see that the hosts Helen and Wayne have spent much time on every detail of the room. Helen and Wayne are very nice and they have traveled around New Zealand that they can give very useful advice. The cooked breakfast is excellent, I like the self-planted tomato and the homemade blueberry pancake very much!!
The location of D'lavande is convenience too, just 10 min to walk to town centre.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We loved our stay at d'lavande. Helen gave us a lovely warm welcome and we quickly felt like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she went an extra marathon (a single mile doesn't do justice to her efforts!) to make bookings for us. Our room was spotlessly clean, but very welcoming and the quality of the linen and bed was superb. Breakfast was stunning - the muesli is delicious and I'm so pleased Helen has posted the recipe on the website! We hope we'll be back to meet Helen and Wayne again in the near future and would recommend d'lavande as one of the nicest B&Bs we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Helen & Wayne are warm hosts and were extremely accommodating and helpful in providing information on local attractions. Accomodation is modern and clean being newly built with each room having its own private driveway and entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VP-AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I cant imagine better hosts in any B&B anywhere in the world, New Zealand hospitality at its best. We booked only 5 minutes before arriving and still received a welcome pack of home cooked goodies. I only wish I had started my trip here, as your hosts Helen & Wayne have travelled much of New Zealand and genuinely want you to get everything you want out of your holiday and more. This is THE place to stay in Wanaka from a friendliness and service perspective alone, let alone for the comfy warm rooms.
The rooms have separate entrances, giving you the freedoms to come and go as you please without being concerned about disturbing anyone. There are gorgeous views of the mountains from the breakfast area which was a pleasant surprise as I didn't notice photos of them in my research. The home cooked breakfast was superb. I hope I get to come back this part of the world, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becstar_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The best stay we had on our 2 week honeymoon. D'lavande gave us a real taste of NZ hospitality. Our hosts, Helen & Wayne, went above and beyond to make sure we got everything we needed.

A few of the things we really appreciated included the free wifi (a rarity in NZ), Helen's freshly baked goods (cupcakes each night), personalized assistance with our itinerary and maps and the amazing home cooked breakfast. We were given yogurt, garden picked fruits, toast, homemade jam and a selection of cereal along with freshly cooked eggs, sausage, hash browns & tomatoes for our first morning and blueberry pancakes for our second morning. Breakfast time was also when we got to chat with Helen and Wayne and ask them everything we wanted to know about their custom and culture.

The expansive view of the mountains from the living area where we had breakfast each morning was beautiful.

Our room (the Provence room) had a separate entrance which we liked. The ensuite bathroom was on the smaller side but had everything we needed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean & well kept.

All the little touches counted a long way and certainly didn't go unnoticed. It meant a lot that our hosts truly cared! We would not hesitate to recommend D'lavande and look forward to staying there again if we get a chance to return.

Room Tip: We liked the ensuite bathroom and separate entrance and would recommend that if if the extra priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiNyLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing