We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On a cold August afternoon we arrived to such a warm welcome at this wonderful b&b. Our room was superbly furnished and we appreciated all the attention to detail to make our stay memorable. We even had 2 of Helen's cupcakes she had baked in the afternoon. The super king-size bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning!

At breakfast our hosts gave us lots of local information and guidance on where to go on south island. Although we had done our research before leaving UK it was good to pick their brains about our plans.

Breakfast was excellent with a great home-made muesli (recipe on their website) and preserves plus bacon and eggs.

We would definitely recommend d'lavande to friends and family visiting NZ.

Linda and Stuart from UK

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindamoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 89 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

We toured the South Island of New Zealand recently and had a terriffic time. One place that we will remember for a long time was a B&B at Wanaka. Helen and Wayne Blair are the hosts at D'lavande. They were professional, helpful and courteous. We booked in at short notice and were met with a cup of tea upon arival. Our room was spotless, and had comfortable beds and direct access to our off street parking. After we decided where to dine, Helen offered to ring and make a booking so that we could secure a reserved table. Breakfast next morning was well prepared and conversation with another two guests was relaxed and comfortable. I can certainly recommend at stay at D'lavande B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MudgeeLongwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

As B and B owners ourselves we are very particular where we stay and we were not disappointed in any way with D 'lavande. Helen and Wayne are genuine and hospitable hosts who made us welcome from the very first minute we arrived and nothing was ever a bother- Helen even sewed up my husband's new trousers in readiness for a wedding we were attending!
The home has been renovated with impeccable taste and nothing has been overlooked to make guests comfortable.Although the weather wasn't the best, the house was always warm and welcoming thanks to a great logburner and heaters in the room.
Breakfast was a leisurely and pleaant affair and Helen was more than willing to share her knowledge of the area.
The view of the mountains is amazing and the garden is a picture to behold.
We have no hesitation in recommending D'lavande for a quiet, restful, and comfortable stay in Wanaka.
Many thanks Helen and Wayne

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarahanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My friend and I were staying in beautiful Wanaka for only a short time (about two days) yet hosts Helen and Wayne were warm and inviting from the moment we pulled into their driveway. Their B&B is an extension of their home so the atmosphere is homey, extremely comfortable and peaceful. We stayed in a room simply decorated in white, gray and lavender. The bed was extremely comfortable and with effective blackout curtains I slept like a baby! The only drawback was that the bathroom was extremely narrow and for a wheelchair user like me, it was difficult to use. Breakfast was made fresh by Helen and included a range of delicious options: eggs made any style, grilled tomatoes, bacon, cereal, etc. Overall, Helen and Wayne answered our questions, fed us well and made a stay a wonderful one!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violacozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We landed in Wanaka without a reservation, called Helen from the airport and she immediately came out to get us and offered tea in the garden (what a view!) when we had settled in. The location is on a quiet street just blocks from the lake front and Helen is full of information on restaurants and things to do. She couldn't be more accomodating. The room, although on the small side, was new, very well appointed and had a separate entrance and so is totally private. Breakfast, in their beautiful kitchen, is fruit, cereal, eggs, and good company. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had a fantastic and relaxing stay at D'Lavande whilst on our honeymoon. Helen & Wayne are the friendliest people who just want to look after you and make your stay a wonderful experience. They gave us fantastic ideas for our travel and were only too happy to help in any way. The breakfast Helen cooked was absolutely amazing!
Highly recommend staying with Helen & Wayne.
Simon & Leah.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

The d´lavande B&B in Wanaka is located very close to the town centre and the lake. It has private parking and you can walk to all restaurants and shops in the town. The House and the room are very modern, comfortable and are decorated very lovely. The overall standard is absolutely very high. Helen & Wayne are the best hosts that you can imagine. We had a perfect stay in the B & B. The breakfast was also absolutely perfect with a lot of choices, homemade jams, English breakfast and special mixed cereals. The room with all facilities is very lovely and perfectly decorated in a modern and French style, like in the Provence. We felt like at home. We will recommend the d´lavande B&B to everyone, who prefers high service and quality, lovely details in a room and a warm personal contact to the hosts. Thanks again to Helen and Wayne for the very good hospitality, for the traveling advices and the homemade muffins. We hope that we can come back! Enikoe & Christian, Wiesbaden, Germany

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enikoe_and_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing