We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation with a personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #17 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great accommodation with a personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

After travelling for two weeks in backpackers it was great to spend a short time in a little bit of luxury.
Our host, Liz, made us feel very much at home and spoilt us with a number of really nice touches including tea and home made oven fresh scones on our arrival.
The hot tub with views towards the mountains was a great way to relax after the long drive from Franz Josef.
Most importantly the beds were extremely comfortable with carefully chosen soft furnishings.
I highly recommend the accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Many thanks for your taking the time to offer your review. Our guests love to beable to make tea and coffee whenever they wish and tuck into the homebaking. The hot tub is adjacent to the guest rooms yet private, so a great way to take in 360 degree views of the mountains. I hope you will visit again when you are back in the South Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have recently returned from a great holiday around the south of New Zealand's south island and one of our stays was with the Webster Lodge on Wanaka. Highly recommended. Friendly, very clean, homely and chic which included a lovely breakfast with homemade preserves and very fresh eggs from laid by the property's very generous hens. Very enjoyable stay with added local knowledge of what to see and do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review of your time here at the lodge. It was great to have you stay 2 nights so you could make the most of Wanaka. The breakfast is always an opportunity to meet other guests, share stories and of course have some of our homemade preserves and very fresh eggs . It was a pleasure to share our local knowledge of what to see and do. Thank you for sharing your knowledge of olives. We will certainly be harvesting our own very soon. I hope you return to Wanaka again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Websters is in the most peaceful location just above Lake Wananka and a 15 min walk into the centre of the little resort through pretty pine woods and parks. The welcome is as spectacular as the views of the mountains and the hospitality is fab. And don't worry if you feel you can't manage the walk into town - your hostess LIz will run you there and back. You could do far far worse than stay here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizmoThame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We are great travellers ourselves and love to offer our guests everything they need to make a great stay. The lodge is really in a unique position set on a slightly elevated section that has all day sun and lake and mountain views. Most days we have guests who like to stretch their legs and take the short walk into town so we always give them our 0800 ph number and offer a pick up if they want one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having just stayed at Websters on Wanaka in January 2013, we can highly recommend it. Our hosts Liza and Neil went out of their way to make the stay a great success. The room had everything that could be asked for including a splendid mountain view through doors opening onto decking with table and chairs provided to enjoy the evening air. Liz was a mine of information about this stunning location and surprised us with a glass of wine and nibbles before driving us to and from the local restaurant of our choice. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of homemade jams and marmalade. The free wifi connection worked well. This was a very comfortable and memorable stay in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Being local to this area we love to share this with our visitors and tell them all the grat activities and places to visit especially those that are not as well known. I am pleased you enjoyed your wine and platter on the balcony around 6pm. I remember you really appreciated the courtesy car drop off and pick ups from town during your stay with us. I hope to see you back in Wanaka in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Liz and Neil at Websters on Wanaka Lodge. They are delightful hosts, friendly and welcoming and we felt instantly at home. They go the extra bit to give excellent service like dropping us off and picking us up for a meal in town so that we could enjoy a bottle of wine, nothing was too much trouble.
We would highly recommend it and will certainly be back next time we are in this part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Many thanks for offering your review. We enjoyed hosting you over your 3 night stay and were very happy to offer you a coutesy pick up and drop off in town. The weather was excellent and you really enjoyed the shared balcony with the great views. I hope to see you back in Wanaka in your future travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our stay at Websters on Wanaka was just perfect. I stayed with my parents, and there was plenty of room for three in the Cardrona room. The room itself was fantastic- upstairs with a private bathroom, and balcony with a great view. Comfortable, clean, convenient, and all around awesome! Breakfast was deeeeeeeelicious as well! The place was purpose built, thus the layout is very functional. Each room with its own ensuite bathroom and plenty of space. Just lovely! Liz and her husband are exceptional hosts, and really left me feeling inspired to own my own B&B one day! Didn't want to leave! Stay here more than one night if you have the time! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyAro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your review. It was a pleasure to host you and your parents. We were delighted that our large Cardrona room worked well for you with the option of a rollaway bed. We have now used this in a variety of circumstances and it works so well in this spacious suite. We were delighted you so enjoyed the breakfast. It offers so much choice that there is always something special for everyone.. A real favorite is our farm fresh eggs.We look forward to seeing you in Wanaka sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Owners are very kind and rooms are new and very confortable. It's a big YES!!!!! Great breakfast. We would like to stay here for a week!! there is also a spa and a beautiful garden just in front of the room with a nice view.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3v3lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review.Wanaka is a great spot and so much to do one could easlly spend a week. Just imagine a spa every night just off the balcony and a great breakfast to start the day. Thank you for staying with us at the lodge and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#14 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Websters on Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Websters on Wanaka Lodge

Property: Websters on Wanaka Lodge
Address: 137 Anderson Road | Wanaka 9305, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Drummonds on Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Websters on Wanaka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Websters on Wanaka Lodge and Apartments has both a boutique purpose built luxury accommodation Lodge and a choice of 1,2 or 3 bedroom luxury apartments in the Wanaka area. We are located just 1.5 Km from the lake and township. The lodge is well situated on the crest of a hill making the maximum of a sunny position on a fabulous 2 acres site in Wanaka. The alpine environment is such a picture postcard with sweeping picture windows throughout the Lodge to capture the panoramic view of the lofty Harris Mountain Range and World Heritage listed Mount Aspiring National Park.Our town apartments provide close proximity to town and only a few minutes walk to the lakefront.When your hosts Liz and Neil Webster took on the Lodge and Apartments that they have aptly refer to as Wanaka's Hidden Gem they instantly saw the huge appeal and its latent potential. They have both travelled extensively to most corners of the world so know first-hand what makes an ideal traveller or holiday maker retreat. This is such a perfect destination for those looking for a quiet retreat, a special event or a wedding with the added bonus of a real sense of privacy. They can accommodate individuals, couples or groups in a mix of either self-catering accommodation or full Bed and Breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Websters on Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing