We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous lodge with well appointed rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #19 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We loved our 2-night stay here and loved the owners, Liz & Neil and their daughter Megan! Can't wait to go back...

The rooms are large and well appointed, with big comfy beds and all the amenities needed, including robes and nice soaps. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was wonderful. Liz and Neil thought of everything: heating lights and towel heater too! There is even a full kitchen with wonderful tea & coffee making facilities (fresh ground coffee and homemade shortbreads too!). We were the only guests there at the time so we had the lounge-room with the big flat-screen TV all to ourselves, but they do have TV's in the rooms. It was just perfect! We even ended up having dinner there using the kitchen as we always ended up arriving late after our explorations... The rooms has big windows to the view which open up to a nice verandah with tables & chairs - perfect for a morning read in the sunshine! They are also installing a spa bath on the verandah and it will be even more awesome...

The cooked breakfast was wonderful, with perfectly poached eggs, bacon & beans. There is also a nice selection of jams and local honey with yogurt & fruit provided, so you have everything needed. Nice gas fireplace in the lounge and nice bay windows to sit at and gaze at the view. Liz and Neil also invited us to sun-downer wine and nibbles at their wonderful fireplace outside and it was glorious! Such a memorable experience, we're still raving about it to all our friends! There is even a barbequeue available...

We just had the best time hear and wouldn't hesitate returning and recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay more than one night as it's worth it. Also, for families, note that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkporridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback. We so enjoyed hosting you. We consistantly try to offer extra value without additional charges. Everyone loves to know its one price. The complimentary sundowner or before dinner drinks and canapes are a popular way to meet other guests and the outdoor patio is a bonus weather permitting. Our new outdoor fireplace and entertainment area is getting loads of use. Those wanting to self cater do often book the apartment so they can have sole use of the full kitchen facilities however many booking B&B are liking our all day menu of snacks and light meals instead of eating out. We hope to see you back in Wanaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 89 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We spent 1 and returned for 2 nights with Liz and Neil in Wanaka. After leaving the first time we couldn't wait to return to their warm hospitality, informed tips, and intelligent conversation. The room was lovely, private, and large with a balcony right outside the double doors. We were so impressed with their kindness and supportive attitude. I too look forward to the new landscaping and hope Liz sends us an update. Stay with them, you will be so relaxed and cared for.

Room Tip: The Dublin Bay Queen Room has a large bathroom with an openable window unlike the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaCruzTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for such a great review. It was wonderful to have you back in Wanaka for 2 extra nights after your trip to Fiordland. We love sharing our local knowledge of things to do and see, many that often don't make it to the brochures. The landscaping of a whole new outdoor living, dining and patio area where we provided an evening dinner for you is now complete. The wonderful stonework and rock walls are finished and the new spa pool is here, ready to be put into place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A really wonderful place; beautiful new room; friendliest of hosts and welcomes; great deck outside for sitting; great tea and coffee making facilities ... Great breakfast ... even a great kitten to play with (Simba). We found the B&B to be really good value. It would be a no-brainer to stay there again next time we are passing through Wanaka. It is the kind of place where it is almost worth travelling just for the accomdation, with the stunning location of Wanaka just being an added bonus :-).

Room Tip: All the rooms look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks you for the great feedback. We are delighted you had such a great stay. We enjoy hosting guests and try and make it a destination stay. Simba is a real star and the lodge with its balconies, patios and facilities ensure we have something for everyone. We are pleased your Wanaka stay was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Had a wonderful and relaxing week. Views spectacular, food gastronomical, rooms comfortably and well equipped. Look forward to seeing the new landscaping when finished. Thank you for a great stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Any room, but if you want a little retreat ask for the room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marathonmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We are so pleased you had a great time with us. Our landscaping development is almost complete with fabulous outdoor patio and garden spaces to enjoy as well as for dining, with the outdoor fireplace being a great asset. The upstairs room you mention is a real jewel with its private balcony and lake views and more like a studio room with all that extra space. Anyone who books this is very pleased with this room choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very comfortable and well-appointed rooms, with fantastic views. Liz was the perfect B&B host, providing a very freindly welcome when we arrived, along with great tips and ideas of how to best spend our time in Wanaka. Our room was on the ground floor and had a terrace, with chairs and a table, so we could sit out and enjoy the views and the warm weather.

The coommunal kitchen for guests to make tea and coffee (with homemade biscuits) was also a great feature.

We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast before we reluctantly packed up and left this wonderful and relaxing B&B.

We look forward to returning to Wanaka and we will definitely return to Websters when we do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your great feedback. We enjoy meeting, greeting and making our guests feel at home in the lodge. Our free range chickens and organic garden make a great contribution to the breakfast table. We are so plased you got so much from our local knowledge of the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Wanaka itself was one of the highlights of our three week NZ-roundtrip. A perfectly sized and extremely beautiful town with a great atmosphere. And staying with Liz and Neil just made the three days we had in Wanaka even better.
The location is good, our upstairs room was great and breakfast was delicious. But the one thing that really jumps out at you is the hospitality you'll encounter. The interesting talks we had with Liz really gave our trip an extra dimension.

Thank you for making our stay in Wanaka perfect!
Best wishes,
Mette & Simon
Denmark

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sikr1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Thank you for your response. It is often a great help to share our local knowledge with guests so they can truely ge the best out of the precious time they have with us in Wanaka. Our location is ideally suited for a lodge as it is close to town but lovely and quiet with brilliant views for the independant traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Only spent one night here, but next trip to Wanaka we'll be staying a lot longer!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcarmonany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebstersonWanaka, Owner at Websters on Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

We enjoy hosting families and are especially enjoy the opportunity to help those travelling with a baby like yourselves and ensure they have everything they need. The free access to the laundry is a real bonus for travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#13 of 53 in Wanaka
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Websters on Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Websters on Wanaka Lodge

Address: 137 Anderson Road | Wanaka 9305, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Drummonds on Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $164 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Websters on Wanaka Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Websters on Wanaka Lodge and Apartments has both a boutique purpose built luxury accommodation Lodge and a choice of 1,2 or 3 bedroom luxury apartments in the Wanaka area. We are located just 1.5 Km from the lake and township. The lodge is well situated on the crest of a hill making the maximum of a sunny position on a fabulous 2 acres site in Wanaka. The alpine environment is such a picture postcard with sweeping picture windows throughout the Lodge to capture the panoramic view of the lofty Harris Mountain Range and World Heritage listed Mount Aspiring National Park.Our town apartments provide close proximity to town and only a few minutes walk to the lakefront.When your hosts Liz and Neil Webster took on the Lodge and Apartments that they have aptly refer to as Wanaka's Hidden Gem they instantly saw the huge appeal and its latent potential. They have both travelled extensively to most corners of the world so know first-hand what makes an ideal traveller or holiday maker retreat. This is such a perfect destination for those looking for a quiet retreat, a special event or a wedding with the added bonus of a real sense of privacy. They can accommodate individuals, couples or groups in a mix of either self-catering accommodation or full Bed and Breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Websters on Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing