We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #6 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We travelled through the south island of NZ in 2014 and visited quite a few hotels and accomodations. Our stay at Peak Sports Chalet was lovely, brilliant location, but made exceptional by our hosts Alex and Christine with great food and local knowledge.

Would happily recommend to anybody

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we came in there already was a fire in the log burner. Very homey, nicely decorated and comfortable. The owner was very charming too, made us feel right at home. The only downside is the parking is a bit unnerving with a largish size vehicle, that's my own problem though. Family loves the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Regrettably we only stayed for one night in the 2 bed chalet. The location was ideal for walking in to the centre of Wanaka. The chalet was modern, comfortable and had a well fitted kitchenette. The log burning fire was a real luxury. Alex was very friendly and provided us with lots of information. We will definitely return and next time it will be for more than one night. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your review. Sorry I didn't get to meet you as I was away. Glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we love to welcome you again.

Just one comment to clarify - the Chalet has a full kitchen including full oven and dish washer. That might be important for some travellers reading the review.

Thanks again
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the studio cottage. Cottage is outside of town, next to owner's home. No views, except for the gorgeous sky at night owing to no/few lights. It is very quiet. Room for parking one car - parking space is a little tight. Note driveway is shared by a few homes.

Owners greeted us on arrival and even had some cookies waiting in the room. They gave us an overview of the area and recommendations on restaurants, local activities, trails, etc. All great recommendations. They also put together a nice binder of local hiking trails.

Room is small but as expected from pictures. Bathroom offers a stall shower and decent size vanity. Closet was a good size, particularly in comparison to other places we stayed - with larger rooms.

Only "downside" is the area for "cooking". It is really too small for much use. That would be ok but even washing a single glass or plate was difficult as the space is so tight.

Unlimited Wifi and it worked great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jankabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your thorough review is much appreciated and certainly gives travellers good feedback.
I like to comment on the 'no view'. During your stay we had low hanging clouds which gave a limited view to the mountain ranges. From the Studio one can see the Mt. Roy Mountain Range, Treble Cone and Black Peak to name only a few. I up-loaded a photo taken from the Studio to show the surroundings.
The Studio is designed with a kitchenette, not a full kitchen. While everything is on a smaller scale, I believe it is visible in the photos take, that the sink is a good size and even pots and pans supplied can be cleaned in there.
We aim for high quality and good service to our guests, and I believe your review reflects this.
Thank you again for staying with us and for the time to review our accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Peak Sport Chalet in May 2014. The owner, Alex, and his family were very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the studio unit, and, while small, it was modern, very clean, and a very nice place to stay. We were amazed at the quality in relation to the price--this place is a great deal! The kitchenette was fully equipped for doing our own cooking, and they even provided us with coffee, tea, milk, and cookies upon our arrival! The room also was equipped with a lot of really helpful brochures and maps of Wanaka hiking trails. The location is lovely--very quiet with beautiful landscaping--and very convenient to day-trips to nearby national parks. We would absolutely stay here again if we're ever in New Zealand again, and I absolutely recommend it!

Room Tip: The studio was just the right amount of space for the two of us: bedroom, table and chairs for eatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotuspixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room was very good with all utilities required for looking after yourself. Great wood fire and comfortable bed. Very good hosts who assisted in our stay in whatever way we wanted. Good information for the local area and also other attractions in the area.
Good value as well

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barra18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked this chalet at a time in our trip when we knew we would be tired. It is lovely. A large bedroom, living room area with a wood burning stove and TV, eating area with a large table, fully furnished kitchen and a bathroom with a heated floor!! It was so nice to have more than just a room. The owners are very helpful and we appreciated the time they took to share ideas and information about the area . The notebook of information they provided was very extensive and thoughtful. The Chalet is hidden in a quiet neighborhood and we could go out in our own backyard and view the stars at night. We highly highly recommend Peak Sport Chalet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#2 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
14.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Property: Peak Sport Chalet
Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing