We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chalet and hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #6 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great chalet and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good travel tips from the hosts .They are warmly and kindly.
The chalet has a fully equipped kitchen, the environment is very lovely and I think the host has put great effort to create a warm feeling to guest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed our Chalet. All the best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modling, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very warm welcome from the friendly owner. Gave a lot of insider information to my wife and me what to do, to get the best out of the stay in Wanaka. Studio was spacious and very clean. Great value for money and strong recommendation when you want to stay in Wanaka. Do not miss the breakfast! Best breakfast we had during weeks of vacation.

Additional information to one of the previous entries regarding a tourist who got stuck in Haast - there is information already in Franz Josef and at the entrance of the Haast Pass that the road is closed starting from 6 p.m. You have to be fair, the accomodation can´t do anything about that, so you better watch out :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herrk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for your review and all the Best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Sadly we only had one night in Wanaka but had such a comfortable stay, that we wished we had more time to stay longer. The chalet has a comfortable bed, the kitchen area has everything you need, good bathroom and storage space for luggage and spotlessly clean! Lovely private patio area with yummy cakes on arrival. Breakfast is superb, served in front of log fire. Alex and Christine are lovely hosts and were very knowledgeable regarding activities and good places to eat. Will definitely book here for our next trip to beautiful Wanaka.
Oh and a great price too, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked for one night and stayed two. The chalet had a seperate bedroom and a kitchen/living room with a wood burning stove. The kitchen area is we'll equipped including a dishwasher. The bed is comfortable, the chalet is very quiet. Good, considerate hosts. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBooboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A lovely experience with the free upgrade to Chalet room from the friendly house owner. The room is clean, nicely decorated, bed is comfortable and comes with all kitchen amenity. Although is slightly far from city, it is not a problem if you have your own transport. In short, we had a great time staying there..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLK585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Truly wonderful stay at Peak Sport-Chalet...My husband and I stopped in Wanaka as part of our honeymoon and it was an excellent choice. Alex was an amazing host, gave us lots of tips about the area and the breafast was always plentful. I absolutely loved the room. It was not the biggest we had on our holiday but it felt like home. And the sheets smelled clean!!! Which after a week spent in various motels was nice :). Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in the studio chalet for two nights recently. Peak Sport Chalets are situated in a quiet residential area, secluded down a driveway but within easy commute of the township. We loved the decor, design and functionality of our accommodation. Everything had been carefully planned to maximise space and comfort. We enjoyed using the efficient heatpump, underfloor heating in the bathroom and free Wi-Fi. Each morning our friendly hosts Alex and Christine, provided us with delicious fresh fruit, cereal, toast and coffee while chatting about Wanaka and their reasons for choosing to live there. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
14.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Property: Peak Sport Chalet
Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing