We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Ranked #20 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed four nights with Barbara and Phil during my recent tour of the South Islands and they made my stay in Wanaka fun, relaxing and memorable. My room was comfortable and clean, which was great, especially after a long drive from Franz Josef. During my time, they went out of their way to make me feel at home, with a great morning breakfast, suggestions of must see sites, must do activities in Wanaka (i.e. Canyoning), great restaurants to try and Phil even took time out of his schedule to take me golfing! The location of the B&B is an easy walk to town, to the restaurants, lake and shopping. When I return to NZ, I will definitely be staying at Montrose B&B and strongly recommend Montrose to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay with great hosts...and an awesome dog (Mika).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
70
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Montrose B&B for four days in April during our three-week trip to New Zealand which covered both the North and South Islands. So, I am a little late in writing this review, but it's one I wanted to be sure that I wrote eventually because I truly had the most wonderful time staying here. In fact, out of all of the places I stayed in NZ, I would say that this was my favourite. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Wanaka and I would also highly recommend Wanaka as a place not to miss on a trip to NZ.

First and foremost, Phil and Barbara are the most wonderful hosts. Staying with them was like staying with family. They were both incredibly warm, welcoming, gracious and easy to talk to. They have travelled a fair bit themselves which I think gives them an excellent understanding of all of the little and the big things that are important when you're travelling. They gave us tons of great suggestions in terms of things to do in Wanaka and places to eat. Thank you!

Our room was perfect - cute, impeccably clean, with an ensuite bathroom. The location of the B&B is excellent - it's in a very nice, quiet residential area just a short walk from town.

One thing we really appreciated about this B&B is that we were able to do some laundry and at no extra charge. Barbara was even so kind as to hang my laundry out to dry for me. Talk about great service! There was also a guest kitchenette (with a sink, fridge, utensils, dishes, etc) which we found handy because we could buy fruit, yogurt, cheese, veggies, etc. to pack with us on day trips.

Breakfast was delightful. We were quite active while we were in Wanaka (there are just so many great paths for running and hiking, we couldn't resist!) and the delicious breakfasts Barbara prepared for us were more than sufficient to fuel us until lunch time.

And last but not least, Mika! I miss that girl! She is such a lovely, gentle, beautiful dog and I wish I could have brought her home with me. If you are wary of large dogs, I bet this warm-hearted gentle girl can change your perspective.

I would go back to Montrose B&B in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed one night at Montrose B&B and had a fabulous stay. They welcomed us into their home and made it feel so homely. The room was very so clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Their dog was unbelievable adorable and so friendly. If you are scared of big dogs you need to worry about this Samoyed. Barbara will even cook you a lovely breakfast in the morning if you want a cooked breakfast. The only downside was we couldn’t stay longer. A recommend staying here if you ever go to Wanaka.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Phil and Barb's B&B is very comfortable and they made us feel most welcome for the two nights that we were there. We appreciated the use of the free wifi as well as the delicious cooked breakfast both mornings. Cycling to Glendhu Bay was a highlight of our visit to Wanaka.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this fantastic B&B in Feb 2013 when my parents and grandpa came out to visit me from the UK. Barbara and Phil were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. I tend to get anxious around large dogs but they were kind enough to keep Mika out of my way and he caused me no problems. The free wifi was a great bonus and the cooked breakfast was just excellent - it made for real value for money.

The house and garden were immaculate and well furnished. The bedrooms were comfortable and cosy. It was only a 5-10 minute drive to the centre of Wanaka and Barbara and Phil had great local knowledge and suggestions on where to go. I cannot recommend Montrose highly enough and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 176NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaWanaka, Owner at Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Nicola
Thank you for the great review and all the best with your career. It was a pleasure to host your family and i enjoyed quite a long chat with grandfather . Our distance to town is 1500 metres and takes less than 20 minutes to walk, footpaths all the way.

Most of our guests love Mika our fluffy Samoyed female dog. She is a ball of fluff and at 27kg she is classed as a medium sized dog. Compared to a husky, who have the same sled pulling job in the snow, she looks small. We generally tie Mika outside at the back of the house unseen if a guest has a particular fear. Most love her so much she is well photographed cuddled and thoroughly spoilt. The Samoyed breed is favoured amongst artic explorers because of their natural friendliness to man. The Samoyed Russian people used to leave their Samoyed dogs with their children in the day time while out hunting and also use them to keep their children warm at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Barbara and Phil run a very welcoming and modern B&B far enough out of the centre to be very quiet. The rooms are comfortable and the shared bathroom well appointed. It was a pleasure to stay. Phil indicated he is up for a round of golf at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaWanaka, Owner at Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments however your score tends to show some dissatisfaction. You traveled in a group of 2 couples and you emailed your accommodation request specifically requesting to share a bathroom rather than pay for the 2 private bathrooms that were available at the time for $135 each. You paid $100 a night for each couple for one night. I am sorry none of your group choose our complimentary full cooked breakfast option which adds considerable value. Your wife asked if we had done renovations recently as she found the property to be in remarkable condition for 5 years old. She also commented on how comfortable the bed was. The other couple in your group enjoyed the large king bed that was advertised as a queen. Our current prices are higher than you paid.. We have found it uneconomic at the rates you paid for only one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had one night in this lovely B&B. Lovely cup of tea on arrival and good recommendations for a quick swim in the lake and evening meal. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a wonderful cooked breakfast the following morning. The lake and walks nearby are wonderful. Like many others we wished we had booked to stay longer. Barbara and Phil made wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
14.5 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#11 of 52 in Wanaka
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Property: Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Address: 120 Mount Iron Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous mountain views from our modern bed and breakfast. Situated in a quiet residential area but only 17 minutes walk (1500 metres) to town. Elevated to enjoy lovely mountain views all around from the dining area. A delicious English cooked breakfast is offered along with continental, vegetarian and gluten free options. Good fast broadband wireless internet is included. Lovely modern bathrooms with undertile bathroom heating in winter, heated towel rails, shampoos and hairdryer and continuous hot water. Bedrooms with wall mounted televisions, self controlled heating, shelving, clothes hanging space and electric under blankets. Queen room with private en-suite bathroom and a room with 2 beds (queen and single)with a large private bathroom opposite. A further room is available only by request. Friendly kiwi hosts Phil and Barbara make guests very welcome in the living area at any time and offer complimentary drinks on arrival and / or during the evening. You will fall in love with Mika, our very friendly, placid Samoyed dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing