We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Wanaka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Ranked #16 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely Wanaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Phil and Barb's B&B is very comfortable and they made us feel most welcome for the two nights that we were there. We appreciated the use of the free wifi as well as the delicious cooked breakfast both mornings. Cycling to Glendhu Bay was a highlight of our visit to Wanaka.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
69
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this fantastic B&B in Feb 2013 when my parents and grandpa came out to visit me from the UK. Barbara and Phil were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. I tend to get anxious around large dogs but they were kind enough to keep Mika out of my way and he caused me no problems. The free wifi was a great bonus and the cooked breakfast was just excellent - it made for real value for money.

The house and garden were immaculate and well furnished. The bedrooms were comfortable and cosy. It was only a 5-10 minute drive to the centre of Wanaka and Barbara and Phil had great local knowledge and suggestions on where to go. I cannot recommend Montrose highly enough and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 176NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaWanaka, Owner at Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Nicola
Thank you for the great review and all the best with your career. It was a pleasure to host your family and i enjoyed quite a long chat with grandfather . Our distance to town is 1500 metres and takes less than 20 minutes to walk, footpaths all the way.

Most of our guests love Mika our fluffy Samoyed female dog. She is a ball of fluff and at 27kg she is classed as a medium sized dog. Compared to a husky, who have the same sled pulling job in the snow, she looks small. We generally tie Mika outside at the back of the house unseen if a guest has a particular fear. Most love her so much she is well photographed cuddled and thoroughly spoilt. The Samoyed breed is favoured amongst artic explorers because of their natural friendliness to man. The Samoyed Russian people used to leave their Samoyed dogs with their children in the day time while out hunting and also use them to keep their children warm at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Barbara and Phil run a very welcoming and modern B&B far enough out of the centre to be very quiet. The rooms are comfortable and the shared bathroom well appointed. It was a pleasure to stay. Phil indicated he is up for a round of golf at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaWanaka, Owner at Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments however your score tends to show some dissatisfaction. You traveled in a group of 2 couples and you emailed your accommodation request specifically requesting to share a bathroom rather than pay for the 2 private bathrooms that were available at the time for $135 each. You paid $100 a night for each couple for one night. I am sorry none of your group choose our complimentary full cooked breakfast option which adds considerable value. Your wife asked if we had done renovations recently as she found the property to be in remarkable condition for 5 years old. She also commented on how comfortable the bed was. The other couple in your group enjoyed the large king bed that was advertised as a queen. Our current prices are higher than you paid.. We have found it uneconomic at the rates you paid for only one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had one night in this lovely B&B. Lovely cup of tea on arrival and good recommendations for a quick swim in the lake and evening meal. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a wonderful cooked breakfast the following morning. The lake and walks nearby are wonderful. Like many others we wished we had booked to stay longer. Barbara and Phil made wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

One night in Barbara and Phil's lovely B&B was not enough. As others have mentioned they were exceptional hosts, friendly and very helpful. They shared their home with us as if we were their friends, which made us feel very comfortable. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the bathroom an oasis after a hot day of travelling. Their pet dog has the same friendly way and adds to the enjoyment of the stay.

Wanaka lake has a small beach with mountains as the backdrop. There are a number of good restaurants and bars plus a good selection of shops. A very relaxing, pretty area which most people will enjoy. Don't miss out on Montrose or Wanaka.

Room Tip: All rooms, I am sure, will be very acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had 3 days in Wanaka, on holiday and stayed at Montrose B&B, where we were made at home straight away. Barbara and Phil shared their beautiful home with us and cooked us a fantastic breakfast----using only the best ingredients---and to our taste. They advised us on all the local walks, places of interest, best local places to eat and helped in any way they could. All the rooms are brilliant, spotlessly clean and really comfortable beds.The location is in a very lovely area, with views of the Mountains and is a short walk or car ride into Wanaka. There are several really good walks directly from their home, so ideal for everyone. To conclude, we were so happy staying there, with two such lovely people and would not hesitate to stay there again, hopefully for a longer visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms at Montrose B&B are of high quality, spotless and comfortable , also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Came to Wanaka for a sport event and was happy to be at Montrose B&B. Located around 15min walk from city center is was a perfect stay. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was yammy and made to order. There was also a dinner option. To sum up, this is the place to be if you seek a relaxing and quiet place around Wanaka. I'll definitly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IronKiwi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Property: Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Address: 120 Mount Iron Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous mountain views from our modern bed and breakfast. Situated in a quiet residential area but only 17 minutes walk (1500 metres) to town. Elevated to enjoy lovely mountain views all around from the dining area. A delicious English cooked breakfast is offered along with continental, vegetarian and gluten free options. Good fast broadband wireless internet is included. Lovely modern bathrooms with undertile bathroom heating in winter, heated towel rails, shampoos and hairdryer and continuous hot water. Bedrooms with wall mounted televisions, self controlled heating, shelving, clothes hanging space and electric under blankets. Queen room with private en-suite bathroom and a room with 2 beds (queen and single)with a large private bathroom opposite. A further room is available only by request. Friendly kiwi hosts Phil and Barbara make guests very welcome in the living area at any time and offer complimentary drinks on arrival and / or during the evening. You will fall in love with Mika, our very friendly, placid Samoyed dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing