We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Ranked #20 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful hospitality in Wanaka”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Thank you, Barbara and Phil, for your wonderful hospitality during our stay in Wanaka. Nothing was a problem for either of you. You are both very pleasant and always wanting to help us. Your home is very comfortable, warm and dry. A great shower, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
70
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hk
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Barbara is a very dedicative and committed host. When we had problem for late arrival, she responded promptly and friendly. When she knew that we didn't have our dinner yet when we arrived late at her home, she welcome us whole-hearty and offered us her kitchen without hesitate. When she heard I was coughing, she offered me medicine.....

Comfortable bed, clean and privacy, convenient and frienship......We are so lucky to stay two nights at Mountrose with BArb and PHil, a real highlights during our two weeks stay in SOuth ISland. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FengHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful location. Barbara & Phil are wonderful & generous people. Nothing it too much trouble for them. Paul had a magnificent round of golf with Phil while I spent the morning shopping. Barbara is a lovely hostess & made lovely breakfasts. It was great to be able to get a bit of laundry done & dried while we were there which is a bonus. Loved the bedroom with en-suite - both of which are very spacious, bright & clean. I would highly reccommend a stay with Barbara & Phil. You would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Barbara and Phil were excellent hosts. They made us feel very welcome, provided us with a warm and cozy room, and Barbara cooked us a fantastic breakfast. I would recommend the Montrose B&B to anyone wanting to spend a few nights in Wanaka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Montrose, Barbara and Phil made us feel like a part of their family with their wonderful warmth and hospitality. We had a cozy room in their beautiful home and everything was well laid out and the cleanliness was simply outstanding. Barbara was sweet enough to even make some strong tea just the way we have it at home. Would boldly recommend the place to anybody traveling to Wanaka.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HaroonRafiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

During our 12 days stay in NZ, Montrose B&B was the best we had. Barbara, Phil and Mika (the beautiful dog) were excellent hosts. The room was so comfortable, tidy and clean. Together with the warm hospitality, we can't agree more with the previous reviewers that this is indeed a wonderful place to stay. Barbara was very kind to buy a new baby cot for our little baby during our stay without us requesting it.
Real value for money and I doubt you can get better B&B elsewhere is Wanaka.
So, make sure you contact Barbara to get the best deal and I can guarantee you that you will not regret!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eng_MOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Barbara and Phil made us welcome from the moment we arrived. They even gave us parking space in their own garage! Our evening meal and breakfast were both excellent and they are clearly had the very highest standards in everything they did. Our room was spotless and had all the amenities we needed for a really comfortable stay. Our evening was relaxing after a long and tiring drive, but we soon forgot those worries as they engaged us in conversation over a wide range of subjects. It was definitely the best accommodation during nearly three weeks in New Zealand. Our one regret was that we did not stay longer as they were such good hosts and Wanaka is such a beautiful and peaceful location, but with enough to do to make it warrant a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
14.5 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
1.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Property: Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Address: 120 Mount Iron Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous mountain views from our modern bed and breakfast. Situated in a quiet residential area but only 17 minutes walk (1500 metres) to town. Elevated to enjoy lovely mountain views all around from the dining area. A delicious English cooked breakfast is offered along with continental, vegetarian and gluten free options. Good fast broadband wireless internet is included. Lovely modern bathrooms with undertile bathroom heating in winter, heated towel rails, shampoos and hairdryer and continuous hot water. Bedrooms with wall mounted televisions, self controlled heating, shelving, clothes hanging space and electric under blankets. Queen room with private en-suite bathroom and a room with 2 beds (queen and single)with a large private bathroom opposite. A further room is available only by request. Friendly kiwi hosts Phil and Barbara make guests very welcome in the living area at any time and offer complimentary drinks on arrival and / or during the evening. You will fall in love with Mika, our very friendly, placid Samoyed dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing