We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Ranked #20 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience in Wanaka”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We received a warm welcome from Barbara and Phil and thoroughly enjoyed their company during our short stay. Our room with ensuite was well appointed and very comfortable and warm. Free wifi, computer access and national phone calls much appreciated, as was the excellent breakfast.
Wanaka is set in amazing surroundings and we have no hesitation in recommending the Montrose as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
70
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We landed on a rainy day in September and were greeted with warmth and friendliness all around. The rooms are great. . .with separate entrances if desired, although we opted to "hang out" with Phil and Barbara most of the time we were there. Homecooked breakfasts were great. Barbara even did our laundry which was above and beyond. . and lent my daughter some waterproof outerwear for the Milford Sound trip. . which was greatly appreciated as it was wet! Would definitely stay here next time in the area. Much preferable to Queenstown. Awesome dinners at Indian and Thai restaurants in town. Lovely views from the house. Thanks again Phil and Barbara for making us feel special.

Room Tip: Used two of the three rooms. Beds very comfy. Room with single and Queen had direct access outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at the Montrose for two nights in the en suite room. Phil and Barbara made us feel very welcome, and it was lovely to chat to them over breakfast, which was delicious. The room was very comfortable and we slept amazingly well both nights. The weather was cold whilst we were staying but the room was always warm and the electric blanket was a real treat. We were able to use their laundry facilities, which really helped us out on a long trip.

It is a little bit of a walk into town but it is a very pleasant walk and gives you a chance to walk off the breakfast! Barbara was very helpful with suggesting activities and walks. Overall we had a very comfortable and pleasant couple of nights here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaWanaka, Owner at Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are pleased to announce we have upgraded the televisions to widescreen wall mounted flat screens. We also have made changes to the furnishings and building alterations to allow more space.

Wanaka is one of the fastest growing and most desirable places to live in and visit in New Zealand. It is difficult to compare value between places as Wanaka has high property costs along with additional tourist levies, higher priced electricity, gas, telephone, food and vehicle fuel.

Unfortunately it was dry but cold while you were here. During the summer the 1500 metres to town is a very pleasant walk. We do offer complimentary rides to and from town summer and winter which we encouraged you to accept however you choose to walk into town for your evening meal and again in the morning when you were unsure of your plans for the day. There is plenty of free parking areas in town by the lake and handy to restaurants for those not wishing to walk. There is also a taxi service that currently charges $10 to our B&B.

Your room is prepared fresh for your arrival. In respect of your privacy we do not enter your room except to change towels and vacuum every 2 days and sheets weekly. Fresh towels daily and room serviced daily is on request.

I am sorry you choose not to join us for a complimentary drink of wine, beer, tea or coffee in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The location is stunning, really understand why New Zealand is called the country of the long clouds. Fantastic walks and views yet near enough to Queenstown for some serious shopping or night out at ver reasonable rates. Definately a place not to miss to enjoy the best of South Island.
The place to stay whether singly or as a family is with Barbara and Phil, welcoming but not overpowering and a clean and stylish house that is on the verge of being boutique but without the price tag. Not huge, just a few rooms, so suggest you book early to avoid disapointment. You'll enjoy your stay and I certainly will make a point of staying again next time I'm in New Zealand.

Room Tip: Just book early in the holiday season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I only stayed one night at Montrose Bed and Breakfast, Barb and Phil Wilson's place, but any time I'm in Wanaka again I'll look to them first. So comfy, w/ heated bathroom floors (don't know what time of year you're staying but it could be a very delicious thing). Also the queen bed w/ individual electric blankets on either side was fabulous. Barb and Phil are the most lovely friendly and cool people ever who welcomed me and my sweaty-muddy-self after tramping all day, and Phil even called ahead to reserve a ticket for me at Cinema Paradiso for the night; all I had to do then was shower and cruise back into town for the movie and a pizza at intermission. I had such an incredibly good time. Barb met me at the breakfast table w/ food and tea which was so nourishing for body and mind. Huge thanks to Barb and Phil for the most relaxing and charming stay, and for the certainty that whenever I'm in Wanaka again I know where I'll be staying. Montrose B&B is the kind of thing one dreams about but doesn't hope for--and I got to stay there...how lucky am I?

Cheers,
Stacey

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We like this B&B very much. The room was very tidy & clean, beautiful toilet too. The hosts were very friendly. Barbara gave us great travel tips. Also, my 3yo son likes this B&B very much because there were a lot toys there. He kept saying he wanted to go back to see Barbara afterwards, throughout the trip. The dog Mika was cute. The breakfast was so yummy. I'll definitely stay here again if I go to Wanaka.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank esheep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2012

6 nights of quiet delight in modern B&B. Fresh puffy pillows and crispy white linens. Fabulous breakfasts made to delicious perfection which gave the tummy a great start to the day. Handy to town, picturesque views and gentle walks all close. As a single traveller I felt welcome and well catered for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiant_goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
14.5 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
1.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Property: Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
Address: 120 Mount Iron Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous mountain views from our modern bed and breakfast. Situated in a quiet residential area but only 17 minutes walk (1500 metres) to town. Elevated to enjoy lovely mountain views all around from the dining area. A delicious English cooked breakfast is offered along with continental, vegetarian and gluten free options. Good fast broadband wireless internet is included. Lovely modern bathrooms with undertile bathroom heating in winter, heated towel rails, shampoos and hairdryer and continuous hot water. Bedrooms with wall mounted televisions, self controlled heating, shelving, clothes hanging space and electric under blankets. Queen room with private en-suite bathroom and a room with 2 beds (queen and single)with a large private bathroom opposite. A further room is available only by request. Friendly kiwi hosts Phil and Barbara make guests very welcome in the living area at any time and offer complimentary drinks on arrival and / or during the evening. You will fall in love with Mika, our very friendly, placid Samoyed dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing