We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whiles away a couple of hours”

National Transport and Toy Museum
Ranked #8 of 73 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Whiles away a couple of hours”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

After driving past the Transport & Toy Museum so many times and being fascinated from the outside, my partner and I finally went for a visit.

It was an interesting way to spend a couple of hours - a real walk down memory lane!

Whilst we felt it was enjoyable, it could really do with being tidied up. There were a few broken shelves in displays and 'stuff'' everywhere.

All in all, other attractions much better in Wanaka, worth a visit if you've got some spare time, but could be a lot better!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesHacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    148
    47
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic collection”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had some spare time while staying in Wanaka and decided to try something different, the wife was a bit sceptical. We were absolutely amazed and dumbfounded by the collection. At different times it seems a little crowded, but it was a great way to spend about 3 hours. It bought back a lot of memories and for the price was excellent. The wife said at the end that she totally enjoyed it and was glad we went. To find out it is one persons collection was was even more astonishing.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godzone
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fascinating collections”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

An enjoyable way to spend 2-3 hours browsing the various toys and vehicles on display, and to reminisce over playing with whatever little toys as a kid.

Some parts of the collection do feel like every little piece of junk has been crammed into a space (e.g. teh train room, or teddy bear collections stuffied inside some cars) but overall, it is a fascinating visit. They also have a pretty decent shop to pick up some interesting toys for the kids in your life.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DMZ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly entertaining”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We had an afternoon spare and dropped in to the museum - and had a fantastic time. The display of toys stirred some great memories and our teenager was deeply impressed by the huge collection of Star Wars memorabilia. It's so much more than just toys - there's everything from sewing machines to typewriters to super-8 movie editors. Every two or three minutes one of us would spot some long-forgotten object and say "we had one of those!". The collection of cars and aeroplanes is similarly fascinating. We could have spent hours here. Make sure you try out the pedal-powered car! Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stormydog_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We just happened to be driving past on the way back to Queenstown, I'm glad we called in. It's basically a big collection of Cars, Toys and Technology and well worth a look. Boys will love it and it was only 10 nz bucks to get in. If you happen to be in Wanaka, go down and take a look, it's next to the airport.

Helpful?
Thank Psi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Transport and Toy Museum also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to National Transport and Toy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing