We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wonderful ambience, excellent ( but not intrusive) service and great food. What more could you want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    226
    66
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the best Indian food I've ever had and also one of the very best restaurant meals I've had. Super atmosphere. Super service. Awesome vegetarian food. Wish I could go back to NZ to have a meal here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just returned from our annual ski trip to NZ where we once again dined at the Spice Room and once again we were not disappointed with the quality of the food and service. After a hard days skiing it was great to tuck into some tasty curries, sit back and enjoy a cold beverage or two and soak in the great atmosphere by the fire. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_G_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food and fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had the samosa and it was the best we have ever had. The venison curry was incredible. Great atmosphere, and the owners are so very gracious. Great wines by the glass, too. Don't miss having a meal here- you must give this a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Evening Dining.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just dropped in for a casual takeaway and liked the look of the their restaurant. Glad we did.
Atmosphere and service great. Central and good parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bclockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing