We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum”
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you like Indian food you'll enjoy this restaurant - fantastic food and service. I had the goat and it was beautiful. My husband had lamb korma and the naan bread filled with fruit and raved about it!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    231
    66
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food - bad news”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stumbled into The Spice Room in Wanaka for dinner last Saturday. The place was almost full to the brim, but they managed to accommodate my request for a table for one.
They have a home brew on tap that is really very good and well worth a second pint :)
The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and definitely make you feel very welcome.
I started off with the vegetable pakora with a home made tamarind sauce - delicious!
I then asked my waiter for a recommendation for a main - we settled on the chicken Jalfrezi. Possibly and very likely the best curry I have ever had. The garlic roti (wholewheat naan) was the icing on the cake.
All in all a very positive experience and that's the only bad news. I'll now have to travel to Wanaka to get my curry!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eggerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superbbb Spice Room.....”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Its one of the best indian restaurants i've been to when travelling abroad.. i lovedddd the butter chicken, and most of all the chocolate naan that they served.. the service was fabulous and the owners wer lovelyyyy people... am surely gona go back whenever i'm in wanaka!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shilpa122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expensive, small portions”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It is a beautiful restaurant and we were glad to not wait long for a table. The food and service were quite good. But we were struck by the very modest portions and the very high prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank carlininwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food. Good staff.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Would definitely return. Superb Indian food. Butter chicken was tops. Very busy restaurant but efficient courteous staff made you feel welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing