We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class accommodation, great host, wonderful views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspiring Lofts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspiring Lofts
Ranked #2 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class accommodation, great host, wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

Our short stay at Aspiring Lofts was most enjoyable. The atmosphere was friendly, welcoming and relaxed. The accommodation was to a high standard - clean, comfortable and with plenty of space and the breakfasts were first class, including some home baking!
Both bedrooms have a balcony with stunning views over Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains - a wonderful place to relax in the evening with a drink and maybe a bite of supper (both rooms are well equipt with crockery, cutlery, fridges, etc.) Absolutely first class.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
201
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed here for three nights but wished it was more. We stayed in some fantastic places in our NZ trip and this was the best of the lot. The rooms were modern and well decorated and the kitchenette area was very handy. This allowed us to have simple evening meals on the private balcony overlooking Lake Wanaka and the Aspiring mountain range. The views were magnificent and were different every day. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Don made the most wonderful and varied breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B, accompanied by Lorraine's freshly made muffins (a different flavour every day). Their suggestions for local walks and attactions were spot on.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cycling-Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Long story short: probably the best B&B my family stayed at on our entire trip in New Zealand -- highly recommended!

I stayed with at Aspiring Lofts with my wife and my mum & her husband, who were visiting from the US. It was such a treat after Queenstown to stay somewhere quiet and comfortable where we could all recharge our batteries. Wanaka is beautiful -- in many ways more beautiful than Queenstown -- and I wish we had spent more than a single night. The room my wife were in had a stunning view across the lake -- my mum's room had the same nice view. There was a basic but very useful kitchen in my mum's room & everything else you would expect from a high end luxury b&b. It was a great stay & the owners were incredibly nice, helpful w/info about Wanaka, & we had interesting conversations about travel -- they have traveled & lived in other countries themselves. They also made us an amazing breakfast w/eggs bennedict, home made museli and muffins.. so many muffins actually that we were eating them for the next two days as snacks on our hikes :) -- stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rael333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Superb location with beautiful views of Mt. Aspiring and lake Wanaka. Excellent accommodation, with friendly hosts, and enjoyable breakfasts. Don's signature dish is great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

I have visited Wanaka many times and always stayed happily at different motels. This time though, we decided to try something a bit more personal, and so spent 5 nights at Aspiring Lofts being looked after by Don and Lorraine. We absolutely loved the room which is brand new, well equipped, has brilliant views, and a quiet, relaxing ambience.
Mornings were something special, as we joined Don and Lorraine in their home, overlooking the lake, while Don cooked us magnificent breakfasts accompanied by background music. We loved our stay and intend to return.
As we lay in our backpackers bed in Hanmer Springs the night after leaving Wanaka, we looked at each other and laughed, thinking back to the luxury of the previous week!
Good luck Don and Lorraine on your venture.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styal, wilmslow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Stayed at Aspiring Lofts for 3 nights and had the best time. Don and Lorraine were fantastic hosts, there when you needed them and quietly circumspect when not. The room was of an exceptional standard with lovely views, breakfast a feast and a wonderful place to stay. We stayed at b and b's all over NZ and this was one of the best

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisj_instyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

4 of us (two couples) stayed here in both lofts over New Year 2009-10. Very high standard of accommodation and furnishings, spotlessly clean and with enough crockery and cutlery etc that we could self cater if needed. Very good shower - no bath.
Our hosts Don and Lorraine were unfailingly friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast was very good, with a different breakfast each morning and a discussion the night before as to what we'd like. Home made muffins - yum - eggs benedict etc
The best points were the incredible views of the lake and mountains from the balcony, slightly better view from the west loft than the east, but only just. This is a good place for two couples travelling together as the balconies adjoin, and there's a common lobby for walking boots etc.
Aspiring lofts is in a quiet location, which is good for peace and quiet, but this also means a 10 or 15 minute walk into town, albeit a very pleasant walk.
New Year in Wanaka was fun, lively, but good natured without the threatening atmosphere found in some large European cities when large crowds of drunks gather.
We all thought this was a very good bed and breakfast place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarktheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
2.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
14.4 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lofts

Property: Aspiring Lofts
Address: 42 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka Bed & Breakfast Aspiring Lofts... with stunning lake and mountain views from a peaceful, hillside setting.Come and relax in the warmth and elegance of our new architecturally designed studio apartments offering stylish Wanaka B&B accommodation with an emphasis on privacy, peace and tranquillity.Look forward to a warm welcome at your Lake Wanaka accommodation Aspiring Lofts Bed and Breakfast ~ Your stay will be extra special! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing