We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular experience!”
Review of Aspiring Lofts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspiring Lofts
Ranked #6 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was our first time in Wanaka together as a couple and we couldn't have asked for more. Don and Lorraine were such gracious hosts with unrivalled hospitality. The room had every convenience you will need: super comfortable bed, great bathroom, a balcony with an excellent view of the mountains and lake, and everything was so immaculately maintained. Every breakfast was a treat for us and we even had amazing home made muffins to take with us on our daily outings. Don will also have some very useful advice on the area, from hiking trails to excellent local restaurants. It was hard to miss the attention to detail in their care and clearly every effort was taken to make our experience a spectacular one. We cannot thank Don and Lorraine enough and would definitely recommend Aspiring Lofts to anyone considering coming to Wanaka!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uyen-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 271 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Absolutely best B & B we have ever stayed in! Immaculate rooms with everything you could possibly need. Flight diversion meant we had been travelling for 10 hours when we arrived quite late at night. Don had the electric blankets and heaters on in the rooms and a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge ready for us. Delicious breakfasts with individual tastes catered for and fantastic local knowledge ensured our stay in Wanaka was perfect. We traveled with another couple and this property was perfect - privacy if needed but able to enjoy evening drinks on the patio together as we enjoyed the fantastic views. Location was excellent - close to the lake for morning walks and only 2 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk to Wanaka town. Don and Lorraine were the perfect hosts! The best place to stay in Wanaka!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a first class B&B. Beautifully furnished, immaculately clean room with every mod con. and a supremely comfortable bed. Added bonus of a balcony with a great view. We only had the pleasure of meeting Don as Lorraine was away, he is a great host, gave us lots of information about the area, restaurants etc and cooked us a fabulous breakfast as well! The view from the dining room is to die for - we can well understand why Don and Lorraine made this their home. To miss out on this B&B is to miss out on a real treat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great, clean room with a lovely view. Don provided useful advice and a very good breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the fruit salad (the best I had in all of New Zealand) and we really enjoyed Lorraine's muffins, which we took away with us every day. The view from the breakfast table added to our enjoyment. A really great choice in Wanaka & good value for money.

Room Tip: Either room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolvesblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was only able to stay one night, which was a great shame. The property is lovely, in a quiet residential part of town, but only a couple of minutes drive from the centre. The East Loft was lovely, with plenty of space, immaculate and had everything anyone could hope for. The balcony, with views to the lake and distant mountains, was a particular bonus.
All of that said, the hosts can make or break a stay in a B&B or homestay. Don was great and struck just the right tone. He was friendly, helpful and informative - and also prepares a good breakfast! (Lorraine was away, so I didn't get to meet her). He was there when needed but also knew when to leave guests to their own devices. I had to adjust my travel plans at short notice and he couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating.
I can't recommend Aspiring Lofts highly enough. It is truly a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter1naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had six weeks of touring New Zealand and this was one of the best B&Bs we stayed in. Don was a very helpful and hospitable host - nothing was too much trouble and his breakfasts - freshly cooked - were superb. The views from the bedroom balcony was very, very good and the room was spacious and comfortable. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretA998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Four of us were traveling together and all of us agree B&B's are the way to go, expecially if they are as top notch as Aspiring Lofts. The name is well deserved. Lovely two apartments side by side with own entrance and such nice views from second floor. Very clean, contemporary look, and comfortable beds. Owner Don did a great job of making us feel at home and fed us a very nice breakfast. His wife, Lorraine, was out of town and we would have liked to met her. Hopefully there will be another time!

Room Tip: There are steps up to the Aspiring Lofts if that is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
14.1 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 53 in Wanaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lofts

Address: 42 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $109 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka Bed & Breakfast Aspiring Lofts... with stunning lake and mountain views from a peaceful, hillside setting.Come and relax in the warmth and elegance of our new architecturally designed studio apartments offering stylish Wanaka B&B accommodation with an emphasis on privacy, peace and tranquillity.Look forward to a warm welcome at your Lake Wanaka accommodation Aspiring Lofts Bed and Breakfast ~ Your stay will be extra special! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing