We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring locale”
Review of Aspiring Lofts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspiring Lofts
Ranked #3 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

After a visit to Queenstown, we were off for a 90-minute drive to Lake Wanaka.

Our accommodation at The Aspiring Lofts, run by Don and Lorraine, was a comfy delight with modern and tasteful finishes (heated floors, recessed lighting, good wi-fi, and perfect feng shui (they spent 6 years teaching in Hong Kong). Our hosts cooked fabulous breakfasts (fresh golden kiwis, creamy eggs with cheese, mushrooms, homemade muesli and yogurt), recommended good restaurants, and gave us a valuable orientation to the high country – Good local restaurants, fruit orchards, former Gold Rush digs, running and biking trails. Don was an interesting conversationist who seems to enjoy being with guests.

The highpoint of our stay, even whilst (using local grammar) a wee bit wet, was three hours of mountain biking around the lake on well-groomed gravel trails.

After 2 cozy nights, wonderful dinners, and our biological reset, we set off across high mountain plains populated by few people and countess freshly shorn sheep enroute to Dunedin.

Room Tip: Both rooms available are top quality.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Aspiring Lofts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Aspiring Lofts for 3nights.
The host and the hostess were so kind and friendly,so we missed them when we leave there.
They provided us so lovely breakfast and comfortable room.
It was the most wonderful place in our stay in NZ and was really good we chose this B&B.
We would love to visit again.
Thanks so much such a lovely time,Don and Lorraine.

Alex&Miki

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the perfect B& B. Don & Lorraine made me feel at home the moment I arrived and were the perfect hosts. The room set up was excellent as it felt very private but were still part of the house. The room was very well furnished and the bathroom was great. Breakfasts with home made produce set me up for the day and Don was a fountain of knowledge about things to do and places to eat. I would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: I stayed in the East Loft but both rooms have equally good views over the lake
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarneyC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I'm writing this review as I sit on the huge, comfortable and very warm king size bed in the West Loft as the wind blows an absolute gale (and maybe some snow???) - nothing like the present!! This place is great. The are two lofts which adjoin the main house but are completely private - perfect B&B. The lofts themselves are huge, with small kitchenette facilities for those who use them (I didn't get past the kettle) and a gorgeous balcony which looks out over the lake and to the snow capped mountains beyond. Thats where a sun soaked lunch was had today. The room is clean, very new and spacious, as is the bathroom - what more could you want? And wifi is included which is a good bonus. And then there are your hosts, Don and Lorraine. So very welcoming and so very charming - I had asked if they wouldn't mind doing a couple of things for me in town (picking up a ticket for a performance was one) pre arrival and it was absolutely no problem. Also very knowledgable about the area, which I guess is a given - and the breakfast. Yum. Here for 2 nights, could have stayed more - all in all I can't imagine I'd stay anywhere else the next time I come to Wanaka.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank MsSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The loft rooms are a great idea! Still part of the house but private enough to not worry about making a noise coming back from anywhere. The facilities were excellent in the room. We had a small work top and fridge with tea making facilities, a lovely balcony and great bathroom. It felt very homely and well thought out. Don and Lorraine were extremely helpful with things to do and great restaurant recommendations. The breakfasts were delicious too, both the cereal aspect and the cooked part. Thankyou very much also for posting our phone charger back to us we left in the room! Sam & Rebecca.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Incredible view, lovely room and hospitable hosts. What more can you expect from a Bed & Breakfast? Allthough we only managed to stay at Wanaka for one night, Don and Lorraine has made our stay there very memorable. The rooms are beautiful, spotless and well maintained while the breakfast provided was delicious. Thank you for making our stay there a good one!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonNReva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Whilst we only stayed at Aspiring Lofts for 2 days, the experience left a wonderful impression on both my wife and I. Don and Loraine were great hosts who provided an exceptional (and healthy) start to each day with a fantastic breakfast. The room was immaculate and very well maintained with the added benefit of a small kitchenette, which was a real bonus.
Would we recommend Aspiring Lofts, without a second thought.
Positives:
The Bed.
The Room
The Breakfast
The View
The Hosts
The Price

Downsides:
Leaving.

Room Tip: The West Loft is Fantastic
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeycarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 53 in Wanaka
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lofts

Address: 42 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $109 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka Bed & Breakfast Aspiring Lofts... with stunning lake and mountain views from a peaceful, hillside setting.Come and relax in the warmth and elegance of our new architecturally designed studio apartments offering stylish Wanaka B&B accommodation with an emphasis on privacy, peace and tranquillity.Look forward to a warm welcome at your Lake Wanaka accommodation Aspiring Lofts Bed and Breakfast ~ Your stay will be extra special! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing