We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for kids or quick meal”
Review of The Cow

The Cow
Ranked #22 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come down to Post Office Lane Wanaka for some delicious pizza or spaghetti! We have rustic dining inside or a fantastic courtyard too enjoy the sun! If you would prefer takeaway give us a call.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for kids or quick meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We took our 12 year old son and my mother inlaw. He loved the huge pizza and ate about 1/2 of it then he ordered ice cream and a huge Sunday with chocolate and nuts came out. He polished off the lot. We were in and out in one hour and even had a glass of red each. We didn't order a bottle as the one we liked was $70. You can byo so I would recommend that. Nice place, nice fire but very hard to find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    94
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nambour
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Similar to Queens town but not quite the same buzz”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food was great with a lovely fire and a pleasant atmosphere. I believe owned and certainly based on The Cow in Queenstown. It was fairly quiet when we were there but it was mid week, mid winter and before the snow fields opened! We were there to fill in time before State of Origin (Australian thing) so weren't actually looking for an evenings entertainment and this was perfect for us on the night. Thanks guys.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ambiance!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

You don't have a lot of options to choose from - but who cares, when the food is good and the ambiance is so nice and welcoming! Nice place by the fire, good music, lightinng by candles - really nice for a fun date or a go-out with family or friends!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana_RN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun warm good food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I loved the atmosphere of this place cozy and warm on a cold day.
great food and excellent service a must visit in QT

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bland, flavourless and overpriced”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A friend and myself decided to try this 'restaurant' after hearing a few good reviews. At first glance when you walk in it seems like a really nice place with a bit of an atmosphere or should i say 'patina'. I decided to go a pizza which was $24+$2 to add jalapeno's, wasn't exactly what i was expecting with a soggy oily base from the tasty cheese and couldn't even taste jalapeno's. Very poor. My friend got a $22 pasta which would have tasted better if it were dragged across the floor first. It had zero flavour and a bad after taste.

One i wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent_curls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing