We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average motel, which has seen better days (some time ago)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ASURE Brookvale Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below average motel, which has seen better days (some time ago)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed for one night in a studio apartment on the ground floor. We paid 135 NZD for stay. Our room was clean, and the host was on arrival welcoming and helpful.

Still we found the stay to be a bit disappointing. Our room seemed very worn out, and was in need of a makeover (except the bathroom). The bed was unpleasantly soft, and the TV was small and almost couldn't display colors anymore.

The motel advertises having a pool and a spa. The so called "pool" is of the kind you'll have on your lawn. The spa cost extra, and had smelly water.

Compared with the many other motels we stayed in on our NZ-road trip, it’s just not worth the money. It's not a poor motel, but definitely below average.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAogBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkoops, Owner at ASURE Brookvale Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
We apologise that the unit you stayed in was not to your expectations. The bathroom has been upgraded, as you had noted, and once the busy summer seasons allows us time this unit and another shall be refurbished. We have more flatsceen TV's and 2x beds on order. There is an on-going renovation programme in place, and we still have 2x units to complete, which are currently offered at a lower tarrif than the refurbished ones.
Our spa pool is checked daily, but can easily be affected by sunscreens, body lotions etc which may have unfortunately occured prior to your use. We would have refunded your $5 fee, or offered use of the other private spa pool if we had known. On checking our records this pool had fresh water replaced the day of your departure, so once again our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    19
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
46
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Managers were nice and very helpful. The place was clean and OK, but the space in the 1-bedroom unit was very limited for a family of 4 (two teenagers). For example, You could only seat 3 around the dining table and once you have 4 small suitcases in the unit it is almost hard to move around. The bedroom is so small, you can't really access the wardrobe. Still, if you don't mind the limited space, Brookvale is certainly not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkoops, Owner at ASURE Brookvale Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Thankyou for bringing this to our attention, and we have positively noted your comments regarding the limited access to the wardrobe. To rectify this, the bedroom with twin beds has now been rearranged to gain easier access to the wardrobe, so that guests suitcases and clothes can be put away, providing better floor space. A dining chair that had at the time been removed for repair, is now back in place, making a set of 4.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Stayed here for one night in a one bedroom unit it was fully equipped with everything you need nice, clean and quite and the hot tub was relaxing but at a small cost, the owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dream84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Motel is well appointed and warm. Beds are very comfortable and bathroom facilities well isolated from kitchen area with the use of fans and ventilation. Cooking facilities good and all facilities clean. Hosts excellent and really willing to help.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsaholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

It was wonderful to go in to a motel that was inviting and used the best from its location with trees and the grassed slope down to a beautiful stream boundary. Felt I was in the country, not the center of town just two minutes walk down the stream.
The unit was very clean, beds brilliantly comfortable, and there were excellent amenities. And we all slept so well. Good heating, well built and if there was any noise it wasn't heard.
Hosts were welcoming and helpful. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

The motel has a quiet location close to the town center. You need only a couple of minutes to all the restaurants, the shopping center and the lake. The rooms are big enough for two people and each has a nice mountain view. Very friendly and helpful host. We were really sad when we had to leave after three days.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Brookvale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Brookvale Motel

Property: ASURE Brookvale Motel
Address: 35 Brownston street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE Brookvale Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asure Brookvale Motel is situated alongside a tranquil reserve and a springfed stream located close to the town centre, being only a 2 minute walk to the shops, cafes, restaurants and extremely picturesque lakefront. Simply park up in our free off street car park and explore our scenic town by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Brookvale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing