We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room”
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for four nights after booking for two due to travel changes. Room was a little dated, but with plenty of space. Big kitchen area. Shower was new, the drop in type. Friendly and relaxed staff. Helpful though as i left a couple of items there and they contacted the travel company to advise them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and obviously being able to stay on extra days is always a bonus & rewarding for all concerned. As you will realise our property dates back to the late 1960's & additions in the 1980's & mid-1990,s. We would love to be able to completely upgrade the building & units outside & inside but it is not always possible but we did plan 5 years ago to build new units so you never know. Keep enjoying your travels. Warm regards Your Hosts Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Archway for only one night, but found it very comfortable. We had a room with a well stocked kitchenette. The room was spacious and all furniture and coverings seemed to be brand new. The bathroom was very nice, except for the old-fashioned plastic shower curtain !
The motel was located within walking distance of the city centre and eateries.
Overall, we liked it and would stay again - happily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you for your thoughts & experiences whilst staying a short while at Archway. We are always trying to update our units etc Although you found the shower curtain somewhat old fashioned shower curtains are pretty modern colours & almost new and we prefer these to heavy plastic ones as we replace them each guest visit & find them more hygienic with little or no mildew, soap residue building up. We will continue to keep up-dating and upgrading our units & facilities as funds allow. Much appreciated. Your hosts Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked a single cabin but were "upgraded" to a larger room with 5 beds. At first we were happy about it but then realized we had much less privacy and possibly a less modern room. Overall the motel was OK. Nothing exceptional but definitely would stay again if needed. Facilities were clean and the location was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauelipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback .We do apologise about providing you a different unit than you had booked which did not then meet your expectation-. Yes the unit is older than the unit you booked but we hoped all the extra space & included free benefits would outweigh any disadvantages. That particular unit has net curtains & blinds but because like most motels you are near other units and in your instance- the guest laundry was next door- it may have been busier than you would have wanted and that night was particularly busy in the laundry for no particular reason. we feel sorry about this point and we hope we do try not to change units very often.We wish you continued good travels & positive experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was fine for the one night we needed but seemd a bit dated. Water pressure was very low and there were no blinds or net curtains so either you had to close the main curtains or be exposed to passers by on both sides of the room.
Ok in summer but would be draughty in winter as single glazed metal framed windows.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Welcome And thank you always for your feedback- much appreciated. We are not sure what you mean about no net curtains or blinds as we have both or alternative options in most of our units- blinds(pull down) & curtains on all our studio windows & doors.( Net curtains are not practical in these units) Our family units with more space and bigger windows & doors have both net curtyains & curtains & blinds in the kitchen as do our chalets. This therefore bemuses us. Compared to the hundreds of hotels & motels people have have stayed they often congratulate us on the level of privacy & warmth & cooling options.Our units in the winter are surprising well insulated- ironically due to the more efficient, dated concrete foundation & the excellent metal based window frames imported from the UK. Once again,Guests staying at newer motels on their stay often comment on how sound-proof & warm our units are in comparison. Older does not always mean inferior !We do however respect your comments and apologise if you did not find these features to your liking or expectation.We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked this reasonably last minute and the husband and wife team were very friendly over email, even making sure we were away of road closures that may have effected our journey. Welcome was warm and our room was as expected. It's interesting reading others comments regarding the dated nature of some of the rooms as to us it just mirrored what we had seen in the other motels we'd stayed in during our time in New Zealand. On cleanliness, we had no problem with the room, although we did have to wipe down the patio furniture before we could use it as it was very dusty. Location is good, although if you want a view of the lake, this wouldn't be my recommendation. That said, being a bit further up the hill does make it lovely and peaceful. BBQ with the apartment was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive & constructive comments always appreciated. Yes we have always been an older motel with upgraded furnishings, beds etc. Many guests also comment how much they enjoyed the comfortable spacious rooms & surroundings. Certainly lakeviews would translate to higher tariffs but in beautiful Wanaka you can soak in the views all day & hopefully guests do not come to spend all their time in their rooms. Having said that, our views are quite unique, natural & relaxing-gardens, trees & mountains.Our apologies for the garden table being dusty but we clean it twice a week but the extra dry conditions, gravel driveway & windy dusty storms all contributed to to an extra dusty 2 weeks .We will aim to keep these as clean as possible although in 2 hours they gather dust again .Warmest Wishes Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Overall the complex was, in our view, seriously dated so overall we weren't that impressed with it. But location was great as it is a very quick stroll into the township. Room clean except for some dead flies and cashew nuts (?) on the floor. Bathroom clean but shower pressure was dreadful. Was surprised that guests had to pay to use the hot tub and it wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Welcome and thank you for your honest feedback. We are very surprised at your comments as we are clearly advertised as an older motel, built in 1960's. The only reason we can explain flies is with our 27-30 degree days we do need to leave all available windows open to keep the unit aired and air movement cool. The cashews we are guessing you thought you found are highly likely to be the native beetle that also rushes in and has a short life span and inbetween vacuuming & mopping everyday and check-in or at night if windows are left open they can come in.We apologise but cannot 100% keep insects from the units under current summer conditions and we are against spraying or chemical treatments as they can aggravate guests sinuses more.We are sorry to hear you feel the hot tubs were too expensive. Our cedar hot tubs are a $100,000 unique investment in a private hillside eco-environment setting with views. The same hot tubs in Omarama & Queenstown charge $65- $80 for private use. We only charge $10-$15 so we feel this is fair and this is only a small contribution to the running costs. .Since we offered you a late check-out until 11am for no extra cost & offered you make-up removal pads and other extras we were a little disappointed that you focused on the little negatives of your stay here. However we always take our guests comments seriously so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently stayed again at Archway Motels for two nights, and as always the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our two units were comfortable, clean and thoughtfully prepared both inside and outdoors with covered seating and BBQ's ready to use. We ate out one night on the host's good recommendation and ate in the second night which was easy with the facilities provided. Great location, great place to stay, only thing needed is more time to stay longer! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaH8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

How wonderful & refreshing to read about "hospitality" and service as well as room amenities. We love looking after our guests especially our repeat guests and we really appreciate you taking the time to provide valuable feedback. See you next time!!!Warmest regards Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $86 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing