We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to rest your head”
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good place to rest your head”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked this reasonably last minute and the husband and wife team were very friendly over email, even making sure we were away of road closures that may have effected our journey. Welcome was warm and our room was as expected. It's interesting reading others comments regarding the dated nature of some of the rooms as to us it just mirrored what we had seen in the other motels we'd stayed in during our time in New Zealand. On cleanliness, we had no problem with the room, although we did have to wipe down the patio furniture before we could use it as it was very dusty. Location is good, although if you want a view of the lake, this wouldn't be my recommendation. That said, being a bit further up the hill does make it lovely and peaceful. BBQ with the apartment was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive & constructive comments always appreciated. Yes we have always been an older motel with upgraded furnishings, beds etc. Many guests also comment how much they enjoyed the comfortable spacious rooms & surroundings. Certainly lakeviews would translate to higher tariffs but in beautiful Wanaka you can soak in the views all day & hopefully guests do not come to spend all their time in their rooms. Having said that, our views are quite unique, natural & relaxing-gardens, trees & mountains.Our apologies for the garden table being dusty but we clean it twice a week but the extra dry conditions, gravel driveway & windy dusty storms all contributed to to an extra dusty 2 weeks .We will aim to keep these as clean as possible although in 2 hours they gather dust again .Warmest Wishes Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    62
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
67
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Overall the complex was, in our view, seriously dated so overall we weren't that impressed with it. But location was great as it is a very quick stroll into the township. Room clean except for some dead flies and cashew nuts (?) on the floor. Bathroom clean but shower pressure was dreadful. Was surprised that guests had to pay to use the hot tub and it wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Welcome and thank you for your honest feedback. We are very surprised at your comments as we are clearly advertised as an older motel, built in 1960's. The only reason we can explain flies is with our 27-30 degree days we do need to leave all available windows open to keep the unit aired and air movement cool. The cashews we are guessing you thought you found are highly likely to be the native beetle that also rushes in and has a short life span and inbetween vacuuming & mopping everyday and check-in or at night if windows are left open they can come in.We apologise but cannot 100% keep insects from the units under current summer conditions and we are against spraying or chemical treatments as they can aggravate guests sinuses more.We are sorry to hear you feel the hot tubs were too expensive. Our cedar hot tubs are a $100,000 unique investment in a private hillside eco-environment setting with views. The same hot tubs in Omarama & Queenstown charge $65- $80 for private use. We only charge $10-$15 so we feel this is fair and this is only a small contribution to the running costs. .Since we offered you a late check-out until 11am for no extra cost & offered you make-up removal pads and other extras we were a little disappointed that you focused on the little negatives of your stay here. However we always take our guests comments seriously so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently stayed again at Archway Motels for two nights, and as always the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our two units were comfortable, clean and thoughtfully prepared both inside and outdoors with covered seating and BBQ's ready to use. We ate out one night on the host's good recommendation and ate in the second night which was easy with the facilities provided. Great location, great place to stay, only thing needed is more time to stay longer! We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaH8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
How wonderful & refreshing to read about "hospitality" and service as well as room amenities. We love looking after our guests especially our repeat guests and we really appreciate you taking the time to provide valuable feedback. See you next time!!!Warmest regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great room in a friendly and welcoming environment. Facilities exceeded all other motels in New Zealand. Wanaka is a great place, up and coming in this thriving area. I am sure that this motel will be at the forefront. Barbecues (7) available to use, hot tubs in the woods.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback-it is always welcomed warmly. It was very satisfying to read such positive comments and we equally love hosting & helping our guests to have a comfortable & welcome stay. We look forward to seeing you next time. Regards Bridgit & Paul(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here as part of a large group, the reception staff were very friendly and very helpful. At first glance, the room seemed comfortable and cosy, but upon closer inspection of the bathroom, there were a few dead insects found around the place and didn't really make us more comfortable using the facilities. Excellent location, comfortable walk to the shops and the lake. Beds were comfortable, and the other rooms seemed clean enough. It was good enough for a one day stopover.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback it is always welcomed & appreciated. We take all our guests comments seriously. We were pleased to hear that you were happy with your room & our service. However finding some dead insects in your bathroom is a little disconcerting. We do clean very thoroughly in our bathrooms & we vacuum & mop all surfaces, shelves etc. All we can think of is that in Summer we especially leave all our bathroom & kitchen/lounge windows open for airing & freshness purposes and we can only assume bugs of course can come in but in the heat of the day they have not survived. We also generally check all our units before check-in time for any such occurrences so our apologies if we missed these on this occasion. We wish you all the best on your future travels.Warm regards your Hosts Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a large group, and noticed that some rooms were better than others. Ours was quite basic, with a double and twin bed, small kitchenette and small bathroom. It was, however, clean and comfortable, and was perfectly fine for our needs. Other rooms in our group were larger and had full kitchens. It's on the outskirts of town, which means it's quiet, and not too far to walk to restaurants and shops. I wouldn't mind staying there again, but can't get too excited about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailor908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback it is always welcome. We apologise if your unit was not seen to be as nice as the other units provided for your group staying. There was a late addition for a single room for this group and this was the only unit we had left to offer.We do try to provide equivalent standard accommodation but we are a smaller motel so unfortunately this is not always possible. We are an older motel as described but have spent considerable efforts to upgrade and update the bedding, interiors etc. Our economy studios like yours are generally well received & appreciated. Other than re-building complex( Which would not be economic) we will instead continue to improve our facilities & units aiming to reach our guests expectation & satisfaction.We wish you a happy rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were just staying for one night and this accommodation did the job, it was around a 5 minute walk to the lake, the staff were very friendly, the rooms do need a bit of updating but we didn't mind as we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We really appreciated your open,very positive comments as we value your opinion.
The motel is a historic part of Wanaka accommodation & is older but as 3 rooms mentioned just this morning, they are very comfortable, there is very little sound heard between the rooms so great "Sound-Proofing". We appreciate there is always a balance to be achieved between the benefits of new & older buildings, technology & comfort. We aim to provide comfortable, clean units, continually upgrading(Especially beds & linens) well appointed with warm & helpful hospitality. We also offer a more "unique" 2 acres of trees, spacious garden & grounds with our new hillside cedar hot tub experience which sets us apart from the more modern, new motels.Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing