We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good.”
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great room in a friendly and welcoming environment. Facilities exceeded all other motels in New Zealand. Wanaka is a great place, up and coming in this thriving area. I am sure that this motel will be at the forefront. Barbecues (7) available to use, hot tubs in the woods.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your feedback-it is always welcomed warmly. It was very satisfying to read such positive comments and we equally love hosting & helping our guests to have a comfortable & welcome stay. We look forward to seeing you next time. Regards Bridgit & Paul(Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here as part of a large group, the reception staff were very friendly and very helpful. At first glance, the room seemed comfortable and cosy, but upon closer inspection of the bathroom, there were a few dead insects found around the place and didn't really make us more comfortable using the facilities. Excellent location, comfortable walk to the shops and the lake. Beds were comfortable, and the other rooms seemed clean enough. It was good enough for a one day stopover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback it is always welcomed & appreciated. We take all our guests comments seriously. We were pleased to hear that you were happy with your room & our service. However finding some dead insects in your bathroom is a little disconcerting. We do clean very thoroughly in our bathrooms & we vacuum & mop all surfaces, shelves etc. All we can think of is that in Summer we especially leave all our bathroom & kitchen/lounge windows open for airing & freshness purposes and we can only assume bugs of course can come in but in the heat of the day they have not survived. We also generally check all our units before check-in time for any such occurrences so our apologies if we missed these on this occasion. We wish you all the best on your future travels.Warm regards your Hosts Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a large group, and noticed that some rooms were better than others. Ours was quite basic, with a double and twin bed, small kitchenette and small bathroom. It was, however, clean and comfortable, and was perfectly fine for our needs. Other rooms in our group were larger and had full kitchens. It's on the outskirts of town, which means it's quiet, and not too far to walk to restaurants and shops. I wouldn't mind staying there again, but can't get too excited about it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailor908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback it is always welcome. We apologise if your unit was not seen to be as nice as the other units provided for your group staying. There was a late addition for a single room for this group and this was the only unit we had left to offer.We do try to provide equivalent standard accommodation but we are a smaller motel so unfortunately this is not always possible. We are an older motel as described but have spent considerable efforts to upgrade and update the bedding, interiors etc. Our economy studios like yours are generally well received & appreciated. Other than re-building complex( Which would not be economic) we will instead continue to improve our facilities & units aiming to reach our guests expectation & satisfaction.We wish you a happy rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were just staying for one night and this accommodation did the job, it was around a 5 minute walk to the lake, the staff were very friendly, the rooms do need a bit of updating but we didn't mind as we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

We really appreciated your open,very positive comments as we value your opinion.
The motel is a historic part of Wanaka accommodation & is older but as 3 rooms mentioned just this morning, they are very comfortable, there is very little sound heard between the rooms so great "Sound-Proofing". We appreciate there is always a balance to be achieved between the benefits of new & older buildings, technology & comfort. We aim to provide comfortable, clean units, continually upgrading(Especially beds & linens) well appointed with warm & helpful hospitality. We also offer a more "unique" 2 acres of trees, spacious garden & grounds with our new hillside cedar hot tub experience which sets us apart from the more modern, new motels.Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights, first thing we noted was the friendliness of the owners who were absolutely lovely. The chalets themselves are rustic, huge, well stocked and the beds are very comfy. Location is great. Some of the decor is a little dated but we liked it - made it feel homey. They have some hot tubs and it is an extra charge to use them, it would have been nice if these were included. $15 per person for one hour seemed a little expensive. But other than that - great place to stay!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you so much for providing invaluable comments about your stay at Archway. Our chalets are very popular and the older charm with the newer touches appeals to many so thank you. In terms of our hillside cedar hot tubs. They are a $100,000 investment involving a unique eco-experience sitting perched up high on the hillside in totally natural surroundings. The tubs alone rented elsewhere for guests in Queenstown & Omarama are between $45-$65 a session. Nearly every hot tub user has commented how reasonable & great value they are. They are not for profit -making and the charge is just a contribution towards being able to keep running them and re-filling them using no or minimal chemicals-very regularly- quite different to most spas or Jacuzzis.

We do make it quite clear there is a charge for these on our website & at the motels. We invite you to try them and make your own decision about whether they were value for money spent.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & found our hospitality- friendly & the place cosy. We wish you both a very Merry Christmas & a happy & blessed New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great stay! Comfy bed, well stocked kitchen, clean. All you can ask for, really! Also had a separate living area in our room.

Didn't venture into town much, so can't comment too much on the location. We had a car, but if you didn't the main part of town seemed nearby.

Would definitely stay again if passing through Wanaka.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Archway. We really appreciated your positive comments and were sp pleased you were satisfied & that your expectations were met. We are constantly upgrading & improving our services & product offering. We welcome you again another time and hope you will be equally happy. Warm regards your Archway hosts Bridgit & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here three nights and were pleased with the facilites. The room was well laid out and we cooked our dinners each night, taking advantage of the barbecue. We used the storage room for our skis and did our laundry.

They may look on a map to be a bit out of town but we walked into town in ten minutes one evening. It is off the main road enough of a distance to be secluded.

Bridgit and Paul were very friendly and helpful, doing their best to help guests have a good stay.

They were having problems with their internet service and put in a new system while we were there. We were unable to use it for two of our three nights which was a bit of a problem. We realize that they were working hard to improve service so good for them.

We also had not realized that you had to book the hot tub and that it had a fee. This was a bit of a disappointment and I think this should be made much more clear on their website.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your most valuable comments. You were very patient and understanding guests at a time when after 200 lightening strikes( One event in a 10 year period) our technology and power surge systems were tested to the limit. However our Wi-Fi gateway and system died basically and within 48 hours a totally new different system was flown from Auckland & installed in that time. It did have a couple of teething problems but guests were wonderful and appreciative.Due to operating a completely different WI-FI we can now offering between 50 & 100 MB as a free allocation start-up. In terms of location, we are set back slightly from noise & the road in 2 acres of land and it is only 5- 7 minutes walk from the furtherest away store or restaurant and only 2 minutes or less from half the services & value eating places.Our hot tubs are a $50,000 -$100,000 2-3 year development investment involving, 250 hillside path & supporting landscape & structural & engineeering developments and the same hand made tubs in Omarama & Queenstown charge $65 per person plus for their tub sessions. For many bookings over 3 days or longer we do often offer a free hot tub.We often package a hot tub also in our packages on our specials page- indicating a fee usually applies.The $10 -$15 per person fee for a private session heated to your customised temperature but barely covers the actual running costs and we do explain these are very special unique up on the hillside hot tub experience not just a spa. Apologies for not being clearer on our website that these are a free- activity but in 90% of our communications we do say you need to pay & book to avoid disappointment- even on our website and because it is a seasonal offering- they are only by arrangement for some periods.We will certainly clarify further so there is no future confusion.It was great to have you stay and enjoy our Archway experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
848 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $89 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing